Academic journal article The Arkansas Historical Quarterly

News & Notices

Academic journal article The Arkansas Historical Quarterly

News & Notices

Article excerpt

The Arkansas Historical Association invites paper and panel proposals for its 2003 annual conference in Monticello, April 24-26. The conference theme will be "Arkansas in the Era of the Louisiana Purchase," but proposals on all topics related to the state's history are welcome. Please send proposals of approximately 200 words to Ben Johnson, Southern Arkansas University, SAU Box 9184, Magnolia, AR 71754-9184. Proposals should be submitted by October 15 and include a mailing address and, preferably, an e-mail address.

The Board of Trustees invites members of the Arkansas Historical Association to suggest worthwhile programs or projects for consideration for Letters of Commendation from the AHA. The procedure and guidelines are as follows: 1) For a proposal to be considered, it must be sponsored by a Board member, must be in writing, and should be accompanied by an explanation or description of the program's or project's work; 2) All projects and programs recommended for commendation should reflect responsible standards of historical objectivity and factual accuracy; 3) Commendations should be made to groups, not individuals; 4) Commendations should not be presented to programs and projects that are primarily commercial in focus. AHA members must submit nominations to a trustee by December 1, 2002. The Arkansas Historical Association announces the Violet B. Gingles and Lucille Westbrook Local History competitions for 2003. Entries must be postmarked no later than February 1, 2003, to be eligible.

The Westbrook Local History Award, which consists of $500 and a framed certificate, is awarded for the best manuscript article on a local Arkansas topic. The article must deal with some phase of neighborhood, city, county, or regional Arkansas history or some person associated with local Arkansas history. Edited documents and memoirs will be considered for this award. Entries must not have been submitted elsewhere or published previously.

The Gingles Award of $500 and a framed certificate is presented to the person who writes the best manuscript article on any Arkansas history topic. The article can deal with any phase of the history of the state or with any individual connected with its past. Entries must not have been submitted elsewhere or published previously.

Anyone, whether professional or amateur historian, is eligible to submit a manuscript. A panel of judges will determine the placement of entries in either the Westbrook or Gingles category. An entry will not be considered for both prizes, and the Arkansas Historical Association reserves the right not to award one or both of the prizes in a given year.

Manuscripts should be no longer than thirty-five pages and must be documented. Texts, including quotations and footnotes, should be doublespaced. Footnotes should be numbered consecutively and appear in a separate section at the end of the text. Since manuscripts are evaluated anonymously, only the full title of the article should appear at the top of the first page of the manuscript. On a separate page the following information should be included: title, author's name, complete address, and telephone numbers. Entries must be submitted in triplicate-photocopies must be clear and easily readable. All articles will be considered for publication in the Arkansas Historical Quarterly. If the article is not published, one copy will be placed in the University of Arkansas archives.

Entries should be sent by the February 1 deadline to the Arkansas Historical Association, Department of History, Old Main 416, University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, AR 72701.

The Arkansas Historical Association solicits entries for the J. G. Ragsdale Book Award in Arkansas History, which is given annually for the best book-length study (nonfiction) of any aspect of Arkansas history. Given in honor of J. G. Ragsdale, a founding member of the Arkansas Historical Association and chairman of the board of trustees at the University of Arkansas, the prize of $500 and a certificate will be presented at the 2003 annual conference of the Arkansas Historical Association in Monticello, April 25, 2003. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.