Academic journal article The Hymn

Two Renaissance Motets

Academic journal article The Hymn

Two Renaissance Motets

Article excerpt


Two Renaissance motets

Volume 1

ego sum panis vevus and emendemus en melius by William Byrd, transcribed by Charles Evans. GIA Publications (G-6796)

Volume 2

REGENA COELI and CONFIRMA HOC, DEUS by Gregor Aichinger, transcribed by Charles Evans. GIA Publications (G-6797)

Good brass players love to play in ensemble; these settings are adapted from vocal pieces, so the lyricism is sure to be pleasing both for player and listener. The first tune in volume 1, in ?-flat major, is from a Latin motet for four voices based on a text taken from John 6: "I am the living bread which came down from heaven. Anyone who shall eat of this bread will live forever. Alleluia." As one would surmise, this piano setting would work well during communion. The second setting in this first volume was a motet originally for five voices with themes of penitence and transformation, drawn from Psalms 78 and 105. It too would work well for meditation during communion. It is set in the key of G minor with a Picardy-third cadence on the final chord.

William Byrd's consummate contrapuntal skills are without peer in English music, so the voice leading, harmonic variety, suspensions, and mixed meters provide lush settings. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.