Academic journal article Planning for Higher Education

A Tribute to Achievement and Excellence

Academic journal article Planning for Higher Education

A Tribute to Achievement and Excellence

Article excerpt

Awards programs recognize and applaud individuals and organizations whose achievements exemplify excellence and dedication to provide learning opportunities for everyone whose lives and passions involve higher education.

The following pages recognize achievements and excellence of individuals, institutions and organizations through SCUP awards programs.

The Founders (Casey) Award for Distinguished Achievement in Higher Education Planning began in 1985 and recognizes exceptional achievement and accomplishments in higher education planning, such as contributions to the literature, the planning models and other achievements that raise the standards of planning theory and practice. It was named after K.C. Parsons, charter SCUP member and first SCUP president from 1966-68 whose work always focused on the contributions it made to the whole of the community or humanity.

The Distinguished Service Award recognizes exceptional contributions to the activities and success of the society. Recipients are nominated and selected on the basis of their contributions to SCUR length of service, and commitment to its purposes, goals and activities. This award began in 1989.

The SCUP Award for Institutional Innovation and Integration program began in 2009. It recognizes and honors the achievement of higher education institutions or teams of individuals whose work has demonstrated innovative thinking, planning and implementation in an integrated fashion. Areas of achievement that are honored are process improvement and resource enhancement.

The SCUP Excellence in Planning, SCUP Excellence in Landscape Architecture and SCUP/AIA-CAE Excellence in Architecture program began in 2000. Submittals are made by an institution and consulting firm(s) as a team. The ability to evaluate the why and how these plans, facilities, additions, renovations, landscapes, and individuals are worthy of recognition is key to providing clear lessons learned in planning. They are some of the best ways SCUP has to concretely show how the application of all our planning tools in the institute result in exemplary buildings, grounds, institutional success, and careers that inspire.

2011 Founders (Casey) Award RecipientGeorge R. Boggs

Purpose of Award

Recipients are selected on the basis of innovative contributions to the improvement of the theory and practice of academic, administrative, financial, facilities, and/or general institutional planning at colleges and universities.

Previous Award Recipients

Jeanne L. Narum, David E. Hollowell, M. Perry Chapman, Rodney Rose, Arthur J. Lidsky, O. Robert Simha, Patrick O'Meara, John D. (Jack) Telfer, Dennis R Jones, Harlan D. Bareither, Clark Kerr, Frederick W. Mayer, Jack E. Robinson, William F Massy, Hideo Sasaki, Lyman A. Glenny, Richard R Dober, Marvin W. Peterson, Robert C. Shirley, Thomas R. Mason, George C. Keller, Clinton N. Hewitt, Jack E. Freeman, and Raymond M. Haas.

The Society for College and University Planning has selected George R. Boggs as recipient of the 2011 Founders' (Casey) Award for Distinguished Achievement in Higher Education Planning.

Boggs is president & CEO emeritus, American Association of Community Colleges and superintendent/ president emeritus. Palomar College. Boggs served as president of the American Association of Community Colleges (AACC) for a decade and has been an ardent advocate for community colleges for more than 40 years. AACC represents over 1,100 associate degree-granting institutions and some 12 million students.

Boggs began his tenure at AACC late in 2000, in time to lead the centennial celebration of the founding of community colleges in 2001. Over the following decade, he helped lead an unprecedented period of achievement and recognition for this largest sector of higher education.

Boggs holds a bachelor's degree in chemistry from the Ohio State University, a master's degree in chemistry from the University of California at Santa Barbara, and a Ph. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.