Academic journal article Political Research Quarterly


Academic journal article Political Research Quarterly


Article excerpt

Western Political Science Association (WPSA)

2013 WPSA Meeting

The 2013 meeting of the WPSA will be held at the Loews Hollywood Hotel in Hollywood, California, from March 28 to 30. Previous announcements identified the conference hotel as the Renaissance Hotel in Hollywood. In June 2012, Loews Hotels and Resorts purchased the hotel. In addition to the main program, four workshops and one short course are being organized for Wednesday, March 27. These workshops focus on Environmental Political Theory, Latino Politics, Feminist Theory, and Asian Pacific Americans and Politics. The short course is Field Research and Analytic Transparency: Collecting Data, Making Arguments, and Drawing Inferences in Qualitative Research. Gary Segura, Stanford University, is serving as Program Chair for this meeting. Ange-Marie Hancock, University of Southern California (USC), is the Local Arrangements Chair. Christian Grose and Diana O'Brien, both also from USC, will be serving on the local arrangements committee.

Peregrine Schwartz-Shea, University of Utah, is serving as WPSA President through the March 2013 meetings. At the conclusion of the meetings, Gary Segura will assume the presidency of WPSA.

The Program Committee for the 2014 WPSA annual meetings is now being formed by the incoming Program Chair, Victoria Farrar-Myers, University of Texas, Arlington. A listing of the 2014 Program Committee will appear in the June Political Research Quarterly (PRQ) and also on the WPSA website.

The following individuals have been elected to the Executive Council for the term 2013 to 2016: Martin Johnson, University of California, Riverside; Tony Affigne, Providence College; Jessica Lavariega-Monforti, University of Texas, Pan American; and Chris Shortell, Portland State University. In addition, Carrie Currier, Texas Christian University, has been elected Recording Secretary for 2013 to 2016.

The terms of the following Executive Council members will conclude immediately prior to the March 2013 meeting: Sean Kelly, California State University, Channel Island; Ted Lascher, California State University, Sacramento; Lisa Magaña, Arizona State University; and Melody Rose, Portland State University. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.