John Irving

John Irving, 1942–, American writer, b. Exeter, N.H. His mixture of wild plot strategies and eccentric characters brought him to wide attention with his fourth novel, The World According to Garp (1978). The novel concerns the career of a novelist, and its complex narrative gives Irving the opportunity to offer his opinions on a number of contemporary issues, most notably feminism. His other novels include Setting Free the Bears (1979), The Hotel New Hampshire (1981), The Cider House Rules (1985), A Prayer for Owen Meany (1989), A Widow for One Year (1998), Until I Find You (2005), Last Night in Twisted River (2009), and In One Person (2012). Several of his books have been made into films.

See his memoir, My Movie Business (1999).

The Columbia Encyclopedia, 6th ed. Copyright© 2015, The Columbia University Press.

John Irving: Selected full-text books and articles

John Irving: A Critical Companion By Josie P. Campbell Greenwood Press, 1998
Literary Subversions: New American Fiction and the Practice of Criticism By Jerome Klinkowitz Southern Illinois University Press, 1985
Librarian’s tip: "John Irving: World According to Fiction" p. 34
Hero Worship and Hermeneutic Dialectics: John Irving's 'A Prayer for Owen Meany.' By Page, Philip Mosaic (Winnipeg), Vol. 28, No. 3, September 1995
Peer-reviewed publications on Questia are publications containing articles which were subject to evaluation for accuracy and substance by professional peers of the article's author(s).
Marked Men: White Masculinity in Crisis By Sally Robinson Columbia University Press, 2000
Librarian’s tip: "Rapists, Feminists, and The World According to Garp: Inauthentic versus Authentic Traumas" begins on p. 101
Looking for a topic idea? Use Questia's Topic Generator
Author Advanced search


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.