Dorothy Canfield (Dorothy Canfield Fisher)

Fisher, Dorothy Canfield

Dorothy Canfield Fisher, 1879–1958, American novelist and juvenile writer, b. Lawrence, Kans., grad. Ohio State, 1899, Ph.D. Columbia, 1904. Her novels include The Bent Twig (1915), The Deepening Stream (1930), Seasoned Timber (1939), and Four-square (1949). She also wrote short stories; Vermont Tradition (1953), personal views of Vermont life; and several notable juvenile books, including Understood Betsy (1916) and Something Old, Something New (1949).

The Columbia Encyclopedia, 6th ed. Copyright© 2014, The Columbia University Press.

Dorothy Canfield (Dorothy Canfield Fisher): Selected full-text books and articles

Writers of Conviction: The Personal Politics of Zona Gale, Dorothy Canfield Fisher, Rose Wilder Lane, and Josephine Herbst
Julia C. Ehrhardt.
University of Missouri Press, 2004
FREE! Home Fires in France
Dorothy Canfield.
H. Holt and Company, 1918
Raw Material
Dorothy Canfield Fisher.
Harcourt Brace and Company, 1923
Her Son's Wife
Dorothy Canfield.
Harcourt Brace and Company, 1926
FREE! Day of Glory
Dorothy Canfield.
H. Holt and Company, 1919
Women's Writing on the First World War
Agnès Cardinal; Dorothy Goldman; Judith Hattaway.
Oxford University Press, 1999
Librarian’s tip: Chap. 9 "La Pharmacienne" by Dorothy Canfield
American Women Fiction Writers, 1900-1960
Harold Bloom.
Chelsea House, vol.1, 1997
Librarian’s tip: "Dorothy Canfield Fisher" begins on p. 104
American Women Writers, 1900-1945: A Bio-Bibliographical Critical Sourcebook
Laurie Champion.
Greenwood Press, 2000
Librarian’s tip: "Dorothy Canfield Fisher (1879-1958)" begins on p. 113
Yesterday's Stories: Popular Women's Novels of the Twenties and Thirties
Patricia Raub.
Greenwood Press, 1994
Librarian’s tip: Discussion of Dorothy Canfield begins on p. 17
Looking for a topic idea? Use Questia's Topic Generator