Gustav Holst

Gustav Holst (hŏlst), 1874–1934, English composer, studied at the Royal College of Music. Grieg, Richard Strauss, and Ralph Vaughan Williams influenced his early work, but most of his music is highly original. Outstanding compositions are The Planets (1918), a suite for orchestra; The Hymn of Jesus (1920), for chorus and orchestra; The Perfect Fool (1923), an opera; and Egdon Heath (1928), an orchestral piece.

See biography (1938) and study (2d ed. 1968) by his daughter, Imogen Holst.

The Columbia Encyclopedia, 6th ed. Copyright© 2016, The Columbia University Press.

Gustav Holst: Selected full-text books and articles

Musical Trends in the 20th Century By Norman Demuth Rockliff Publishing, 1975
Librarian’s tip: Chap. 11 "Gustav Holst (1874-1934)"
The Modern Age, 1890-1960 By Martin Cooper Oxford University Press, 1974
Librarian’s tip: "Gustav Holst" begins on p. 513
National Music and Other Essays By Ralph Vaughan Williams Clarendon Press, 1996 (2nd edition)
Librarian’s tip: "Gustav Holst: An Essay and a Note" begins on p. 129
Twenty-Four Portraits By William Rothenstein Chatto & Windus, 1923
Librarian’s tip: "Gustav Holst" begins on p. 33
Looking for a topic idea? Use Questia's Topic Generator
Author Advanced search


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.