New England Journal of Entrepreneurship

Journal has articles and empirical research on  entrepreneurship and small business management.

Articles from Vol. 4, No. 1, Spring

Cultural and Socioeconomic Determinants of Invention: A Multicountry, Multiperiod Analysis
This article examines the influence of culture and socioeconomic variables on national invention. For the overall sample, individualism and power distance affects invention. Human capital, infrastructure, and gross domestic product (GDP) per capita also...
Export Planning and Performance: An Organizational Culture Perspective on Small Firms
The purpose of this study is to examine hypothesized relationships among small firms' cultural values pertaining to formal planning, their practices linked to those values, and their export performance. Sample results indicate that significant relationships...
From the Editors
The Spring 2001 issue of the Journal starts Volume 4 for the New England Journal of Entrepreneurship, perhaps inconsequential to some of our readers, but to the editors it is another milestone in our development as our publication continues to evolve....
Human Resource Management Issues as a Small Business Grows
With the recent growth of small businesses in the private sector, it has become increasingly important to understand how small businesses use their human resources. Yet, very little research has been conducted to examine human resource management issues...
On the Logic of Business Plan Composition
Effective business plans do not live by their topics alone: how well the analysis of those topics persuades is at least as important. Analytical writing draws conclusions by investigating and synthesizing facts and conjectures. -Synthesizing facts and...
Out on a Limb - and Thriving
This issue of the New England Journal of Entrepreneurship features Robert Seliger, the 42year-old CEO of Sentillion, a fledgling organization headquartered in Andover, Massachusetts, that has developed the means of coordinating and integrating complex...
Revisiting Shapero: A Taxonomy of Entrepreneurial Typologies
The governing paradigm of industrial organization is the state of economic equilibrium. By contrast, Schumpeterian entrepreneurship creatively destructs such an equilibrium state. Moreover, Austrian entrepreneurship represents the arbitrage movement...
Who Moved My Cheese?
Spencer Johnson, Who Moved My Cheese? New York: Penguin Putnam Inc., 1998. In the tradition of The Little Prince and Jonathon Livingston Seagull comes the parable of change in Who Moved My Cheese. The success of these books lies in the mix between their...