C. S. Lewis

C. S. Lewis: (Clive Staples Lewis), 1898–1963, English author, b. Belfast, Ireland. A fellow and tutor of English at Magdalen College, Oxford, from 1925 to 1954, C. S. Lewis was noted equally for his literary scholarship and for his intellectual and witty expositions of Christian tenets. Among his most important works are The Allegory of Love (1936), an analysis of the literary evolution of romantic love during the Middle Ages; The Screwtape Letters (1942, rev. ed. 1961), an ironic treatment of the theme of salvation; and a history of English Literature in the Sixteenth Century (1954). He is also the author of Out of the Silent Planet (1938) and That Hideous Strength (1945), outer-planetary fantasies with deep Catholic and moral overtones; the "Chronicles of Narnia," a series of allegorical fantasies set in the mythical kingdom of Narnia, including The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (1950) and The Silver Chair (1953); many works of literary criticism, including Studies in Medieval and Renaissance Literature (1966); and the autobiographical Surprised by Joy (1954). From 1954 until his death he was professor of Medieval and Renaissance English at Cambridge.

See his Selected Literary Essays (1970) and Narrative Poems (1970), both ed. by W. Hooper; his letters, ed. by his brother W. H. Lewis (1966, repr. 1975); biographies by C. S. Kilby and D. Gilbert (1973), and R. L. Green and W. Hooper (1974); studies by P. G. Schakel, ed. (1977), W. Griffin (1986), C. N. Manlove (1987), L. W. Dorsett (1988), and G. B. Sayer (1988); R. MacSwain and M. Ward, ed., The Cambridge Companion to C. S. Lewis (2010).

The Columbia Encyclopedia, 6th ed. Copyright© 2014, The Columbia University Press.

C. S. Lewis: Selected full-text books and articles

C. S. Lewis in Context
Doris T. Myers.
Kent State University Press, 1994
Imagination and the Arts in C.S. Lewis: Journeying to Narnia and Other Worlds
Peter J. Schakel.
University of Missouri Press, 2002
C.S. Lewis on the Final Frontier: Science and the Supernatural in the Space Trilogy
Sanford Schwartz.
Oxford University Press, 2009
C.S. Lewis Then and Now
Wesley A. Kort.
Oxford University Press, 2001
Bareface: A Guide to C.S. Lewis's Last Novel
Doris T. Myers.
University of Missouri Press, 2004
The Screwtape Letters: Screwtape Proposes a Toast
C. S. Lewis.
Macmillan, 1961
The Case for Christianity
C. S. Lewis.
Macmillan, 1943
C.S. Lewis, Poet: The Legacy of His Poetic Impulse
Don W. King.
Kent State University Press, 2001
Narnia and the Fields of Arbol: The Environmental Vision of C.S. Lewis
Matthew Dickerson; David O’Hara.
University Press of Kentucky, 2009
Shadows of Imagination: The Fantasies of C. S. Lewis, J. R. R. Tolkien, and Charles Williams
Mark R. Hillegas.
Southern Illinois University Press, 1979 (New edition)
Planets in Peril: A Critical Study of C.S. Lewis's Ransom Trilogy
David C. Downing.
University of Massachusetts Press, 1992
Space and Beyond: The Frontier Theme in Science Fiction
Gary Westfahl.
Greenwood Press, 2000
Librarian’s tip: Chap. 15 "Re-mythologizing Outer Space with C. S. Lewis and Cordwainer Smith"
The Transcendent Adventure: Studies of Religion in Science Fiction/Fantasy
Robert Reilly.
Greenwood Press, 1985
Librarian’s tip: Chap. 6 "Augustinian Evil in C. S. Lewis's Perelandra"
Mere Lewis
Como, James.
The Wilson Quarterly, Vol. 18, No. 2, Spring 1994
Things That Count: Essays Moral and Theological
Gilbert Meilaender.
ISI Books, 2000
Librarian’s tip: Chap. 9 "C. S. Lewis and a Theology of the Everyday"
A Preface to Paradise Lost
C. S. Lewis.
Oxford University Press, 1961
English Literature in the Sixteenth Century: Excluding Drama
C. S. Lewis.
Clarendon Press, 1954
Looking for a topic idea? Use Questia's Topic Generator


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.