The Medical Library Association Has Announced Its President-Elect and New Board Members for the 2004/05 Association Year

Article excerpt

The Medical Library Association has announced its president-elect and new board members for the 2004/05 association year. They will assume their new positions at the end of the annual meeting this month.

MLA president-elect Mary Joan (M.J.) Tooey is the director of the University of Maryland-Baltimore's Health Sciences and Human Services Library. Tooey is the current chair of the MLA 2004 National Program Committee. She was on the MLA board of directors and was chair of the chapter council. She also chaired the MLA/Pew Credible Information Task Force and is a former chair of both the Public Services Section and the Mid-Atlantic Chapter of MLA. Tooey has received awards such as the Mid-Atlantic Chapter's Medical Library Association Librarian of the Year. She also was a member of the White House Conference on Library and Information Science Task Force.


The newly elected members of MLA's board of directors are Dixie Alford Jones and Faith A. Meakin. They will serve 3-year terms.

Currently, Jones is section chief of the Overton Brooks VA Medical Center's Medical Library in Shreveport, La. She has been on many of MLA's committees (including the Membership Committee, the National Program Committee, and the Nominating Committee) as well as a mentor for MLA's Academy of Health Information Professionals. …


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.