Magazine article World Health Report

List of Member States by WHO Region and Mortality Stratum

Magazine article World Health Report

List of Member States by WHO Region and Mortality Stratum

Article excerpt

To aid in cause-of-death and burden-of-disease analyses, the 192 Member States of the World Health Organization have been divided into five mortality strata on the basis of their levels of mortality in children under five years of age (5q0) and in males 15-59 years old (45q15). This classification was carried out using population estimates for 1999 (using United Nations Population Division data) and estimates of 5q0 and 45q15 based on WHO analyses of mortality rates for 1999.

Quintiles of the distribution of child mortality for both sexes combined (5q0) were used to define some countries as very low child mortality (1st quintile), some as low child mortality (2nd and 3rd quintiles) and others as high child mortality (4th and 5th quintiles). Adult mortality (the risk of death between ages 15 and 60 years, i.e. 45q15) was regressed on 5q0 and the regression line used to divide countries with high child mortality into high adult mortality (stratum D) and very high adult mortality (stratum E). Stratum E includes the countries in sub-Saharan Africa where HIV/AIDS has had a very substantial impact.

The adjacent table summarizes the five mortality strata. When these mortality strata are applied to the six WHO regions, they produce 14 subregions, which are used in the Annex Tables to present results. The WHO Member States in each region are grouped by subregion as listed opposite. This classification has no official status and is for analytical purposes only.

The total number of WHO Member States is 192, the latest addition being Timor-Leste, which is classified in the high-mortality developing region of Sear-D. In 2003, the Fifty-sixth World Health Assembly endorsed the reassignment of Cyprus to the European Region from the Eastern Mediterranean Region.

Definitions of morality strata used to define subregions

Mortality stratum   Child mortality   Adult mortality

A                   Very low          Very low
B                   Low               Low
C                   Low               High
D                   High              High
E                   High              Very high

WHO Member States, by region and mortality stratum

Region and
stratum      Description                  Broad grouping


Afr-D        Africa with high child and   High-mortality
             high adult mortality         developing

Afr-E        Africa with high child and   High-mortality
             very high adult mortality    developing


Amr-A        Americas with very           Developed
             low child and very low
             adult mortality

Amr-B        Americas with low child      Low-mortality
             and low adult mortality      developing

Amr-D        Americas with high           High-mortality
             child and high               developing
             adult mortality

South-East Asia

Sear-B       South-East Asia with         Low-mortality
             low child and low adult      developing

Sear-D       South-East Asia with         High-mortality
             high child and low adult     developing


Eur-A        Europe with very             Developed
             low child and very low
             adult mortality

Eur-B        Europe with low child and    Developed
             low adult mortality

Eur-C        Europe with low child and    Developed
             high adult mortality

Eastern Mediterranean

Emr-B        Eastern Mediterranean        Low-mortality
             with low child and low       developing
             adult mortality

Emr-D        Eastern Mediterranean        High-mortality
             with high child and          developing
             high adult mortality

Western Pacific

Wpr-A        Western Pacific with         Developed
             very low child and very
             low adult mortality

Wpr-B        Western Pacific with         Low-mortality
             low child and low adult      developing

Region and
stratum      Member States


Afr-D        Algeria, Angola, Benin, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Cape
             Verde, Chad, Comoros, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Gambia,
             Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Madagascar, Mali,
             Mauritania, Mauritius, Niger, Nigeria, Sao Tome and
             Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Togo

Afr-E        Botswana, Burundi, Central African Republic, Congo,
             Cote d'Ivoire, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Eritrea,
             Ethiopia, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia,
             Rwanda, South Africa, Swaziland, Uganda, United Republic
             of Tanzania, Zambia, Zimbabwe


Amr-A        Canada, Cuba, United States of America

             Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Bahamas, Barbados,
             Belize, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominica,
             Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Grenada, Guyana,
             Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Panama, Paraguay, Saint Kitts
             and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines,
             Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, Uruguay, Venezuela
             (Bolivarian Republic

Amr-D        Bolivia, Ecuador, Guatemala, Haiti, Nicaragua, Peru

South-East Asia

Sear-B       Indonesia, Sri Lanka, Thailand

Sear-D       Bangladesh, Bhutan, Democratic People's Republic of
             Korea, India, Maldives, Myanmar, Nepal, Timor-Leste


Eur-A        Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech
             Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece,
             Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Luxembourg, Malta,
             Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, San Marino,
             Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom

Eur-B        Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bosnia and Herzegovina,
             Bulgaria, Georgia, Kyrgyzstan, Poland, Romania, Serbia
             and Montenegro, Slovakia, Tajikistan, The former Yugoslav
             Republic of Macedonia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan

Eur-C        Belarus, Estonia, Hungary, Kazakhstan, Latvia, Lithuania,
             Republic of Moldova, Russian Federation, Ukraine

Eastern Mediterranean

Emr-B        Bahrain, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Jordan, Kuwait,
             Lebanon, Libyan Arab Jamahiriya, Oman, Qatar, Saudi
             Arabia, Syrian Arab Republic, Tunisia, United Arab

Emr-D        Afghanistan, Djibouti, Egypt, (a) Iraq, Morocco,
             Pakistan, Somalia, Sudan, Yemen

Western Pacific

Wpr-A        Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Japan, New Zealand,

Wpr-B        Cambodia, (b) China, Cook Islands, Fiji, Kiribati,
             Lao People's Democratic Republic, (b) Malaysia, Marshall
             Islands, Micronesia (Federated States of), Mongolia,
             Nauru, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, (b) Philippines,
             Republic of Korea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu,
             Vanuatu, Viet Nam

(a) Following improvements in child mortality over recent years, Egypt
meets criteria for inclusion in subregion Emr-B with low child and low
adult mortality. … 
Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.