Magazine article Marketing

Marketing Society Awards Preview: Honouring Excellence

Magazine article Marketing

Marketing Society Awards Preview: Honouring Excellence

Article excerpt

Marketing Society Awards will reward marketing that has boosted the bottom line.

In its 20th year, the Marketing Society Awards for Excellence will once again recognise the foremost examples of industry best marketing practice, with entries for 2005 reaching record levels.

The awards, which will be announced on 13 June at London's Hilton hotel on Park Lane, aim to reflect the range of marketing activities common to companies and organisations of all sizes, operating in all areas.

Criteria used to judge this year's entries include the campaign's impact on sales, profits, market share and customer attitudes towards the brand client. The winning entries will share the distinction of showing a link between the marketing activity and the company's bottom line, proving the medium's ability to provide a return on investment.

Outstanding work

In all, there are 16 category awards up for grabs, including Marketer of the Year (voted for by Marketing readers, see page 34) and Young Marketer of the Year prizes. Of all the entries in the categories to be considered by the judging panel, the flagship Grand Prix award will be given to the one, outstanding nomination that impressed the judges most in meeting all the requisite criteria.

Last year's Grand Prix award was won by Interbrew for its highly successful relaunch of the Stella Artois brand.

Selected by a panel of the industry's leading figures, the winners in all categories will have proven the quality of their marketing approach and the direct benefits that their strategy has had on the client's financial performance.

This year's Awards for Excellence judging panel is led by head judge Chris De Lapuente, president of global haircare at Procter & Gamble.

Panel members

Other members of the panel include: Alan Bishop, chief executive, COI; Hugh Burkitt, chief executive, The Marketing Society; Alan Cook, chief executive, National Savings & Investments; Mark Earls, executive planning director, Ogilvy & Mather; Chris Ingram, partner, The Ingram Partnership; Cath Keers, customer director, O2; Amanda Mackenzie, marketing director, Hewlett-Packard; Chris Moss, chief executive, The Number; Gavin Patterson, group managing director, BT; David Patton, vice-president of marketing, Sony Europe; Paul Philpott, commercial director, Toyota GB; Tim Pile, chief executive, Sainsbury's Bank; Syl Saller, global brand innovation director, Diageo; Nick Smith, director of marketing and strategy, British Gas; and Stevie Spring, chief executive, Clear Channel.

Venue: The Hilton, Park Lane, London
Date: 13 June 2005
Table bookings: Call Bridget Drummond on 020 8267 4090 or email her on
bridget. … 
Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.