Magazine article The Nation's Health

APHA Member Groups Present Awards in San Diego: Educators, Students, Researchers Honored for Achievements

Magazine article The Nation's Health

APHA Member Groups Present Awards in San Diego: Educators, Students, Researchers Honored for Achievements

Article excerpt

Alcohol, Tobacco and Other Drugs

Slade Memorial Advocacy Award: Tom Houston, MD

Community-Based Leadership Award: Diane Riibe

Lifetime Achievement Award: Ron Davis, MD (posthumous)

Section Leadership Award: Tom Greenfield, PhD

Student Poster Award Winner: Deborah L. McLellan, MHS; Samrat Yeramaneni, MBBS

Best Student Abstract Award: Ashley Skooglund

Chiropractic Health Care

Lifetime Achievement Award: Rand Baird, DC, MPH

Distinguished Service Award: Elaine Cooperstein, DC

Rising Star Award: Jonathan Egan, DC, MPH


Lifetime Achievement Award: Elizabeth DePoy, PhD

New Investigator Award: Danielle S. Ross, PhD, MSc


Homer N. Calver Lecture Award: Diane Takvorian

Damu Smith Environmental Health Achievement Award: Hilton Kelley

Distinguished Service Award: Allen Dearry, PhD; Nsedu Obot Witherspoon, MPH


Wade Hampton Frost Lectureship: Ana V. Diez-Roux, MD, PhD, MPH

Student Abstract Award: Orquidea Frias-Belen; Tomas Nuno, MA; Heidi Sato, PhD, MPH; Melissa Wei

Abraham Lilienfeld Award: George G. Rhoads, MD, MPH

John Snow Award: Julie E. Buring, ScD Public Health Practice Award (individual): Dawn Terashita, MD, MPH

Public Health Practice Award (organization): Chicago Recover Alliance

Rema Lapouse Award 2008 for Excellence in Psychiatric Epidemiology (joint award with Mental Health and Statistics Sections): Terrie Moffitt, Avshalom Caspi

Food and Nutrition

Excellence in Dietary Guidance Award: Laurie True, MPH

Mary C. Egan Award: Marion Taylor Baer, PhD, RD

Catherine Cowell Award: Leslie Mikkelsen, MPH, RD

Student Abstract Award: Matthew Lapierre, MA

Gerontological Health

Philip G. Weiler Award for Leadership in Aging and Public

Health: Carroll L. Estes, PhD

Gerontological Health Section Lifetime Achievement Award: Etsuji Okamoto, MD, MPH, LLB; Fernando Torres-Gil, PhD Aetna Award for Excellence in Research on Older Women and

Public Health: Leah Rohlfsen, PhD Archstone Foundation Award for

Excellence in Program Innovation: Chad Boult, MD, MPH, MBA James G. Zimmer New Investigator

Research Award: Daniela Friedman, PhD

Master's Student Research Award: Chen Ling, MPH

Betty J. Cleckley Minority Issues Research Award: Maria Elena Ruiz, PhD, RN

Aging and Rural Health Research Award: Cindy Kerber, PhD, APRN Laurence G. Branch Doctoral

Student Research Award: Jyostna Jagai, MPH, MS

Health Administration

Award of Excellence in Health Administration: Virginia A. Caine, MD


Best Overall Submission to HIV/AIDS Section: Ralph DiClemente, PhD; Jessica Sales, PhD; Gina M. Wingood, ScD, MPH Outstanding Submission on an

International Topic: Kirsten Bose, MHS; Jane W. Brown, MPH; Alisha H. Creel, PhD; Lisa K. Folda, MHS; Glory Mkandawire; Rajiv N. Rimal, PhD

Outstanding Submission to HIV/AIDS Section by New Investigator: Elaine Blumberg, MA; Michele Ginsberg, MD; C. Richard Hofstetter; Melbourne F. Hovell, PhD, MPH; Ming Ji, PhD; Norma Kelley; Carol L. Sipan, RN, MPH; Raechel D. Tejidor, MPH; Alicia Vera, MPH

David Rosenstein Award for Outstanding Student Abstract: Tara A. McKay, Matt G. Mutchler, PhD

Injury Control and Emergency Health Services

Distinguished Career Award: Susan P. Baker, MPH, ScD (Hon.)

International Distinguished Career Award: Alexander John "Jack" McLean, ScD, MS, MEng

Excellence in Science Award: Corinne Peek-Asa, PhD, MPH

Public Service Award: David Lawrence, PhD, MPH

ICEHS Special Service Award: John Lundell, MA; Nancy Nachreiner, PhD, RN; Billie Weiss, MPH; Douglas Wiebe, PhD

International Health

Distinguished Section Service Award: Ray Martin, MPH

Lifetime Achievement Award in International Health: Samir N. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.