Magazine article Artforum International

Martin Kersels: Santa Monica Museum of Art

Magazine article Artforum International

Martin Kersels: Santa Monica Museum of Art

Article excerpt

Standing six and a half feet tall and weighing around 350 pounds, Martin Kersels is a big guy. "I don't fit in a lot of places, literally and figuratively," he says in an interview published in the catalogue for his first midcareer retrospective, aptly subtitled "Heavyweight Champion." The conspicuousness of his oversize person and the awkwardness of not fitting in are the generative conditions of his practice, as seen in the show's thirty-three works, spanning 1994 to 2007. (Newer works were concurrently on view at ACME gallery.) Kersels employs a range of media, from sculpture and photography to video and performance, and has produced a body of work at once hefty and nimble, slapstick and subtle, confident and self-effacing.

Beginning his career in the mid-1980s as part of SHRIMPS--a Los Angeles-based performance collaborative committed, in part, to showing large men enacting small movements--Kersels has long used art as a forum for wrestling with the limitations and possibilities of the physical self. Existentially resonant, bodies fill and move through his work with melancholy, bluntness, and humor. Installed here in salon-style abundance over two adjacent walls, the artist's early photographs capture him engaged in energetic and parodic actions: falling and tripping in public, as well as spinning, tossing, and being smacked by friends. The photographs speak of momentarily altered states: letting go, passing out, tripping, being drunk and dizzy. In the tradition of Bruce Nauman, John Jan Ader, and others before him, Kersels deadpans unheroic actions, frequently arresting and romanticizing the moment when the body loses control, succumbs to gravity, fails itself. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed

Oops!

An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.