Magazine article Nation's Cities Weekly

NLC Elects 2011 Officers, Board of Directors

Magazine article Nation's Cities Weekly

NLC Elects 2011 Officers, Board of Directors

Article excerpt

NLC's membership elected the 2011 officers and Board of Directors during the Congress of Cities & Exposition in Denver.

James E. Mitchell Jr., council member, Charlotte, N.C., was elected president.

Ted Ellis, mayor of Bluffton, Ind., was elected first vice president and Marie Lopez Rogers, mayor, Avondale, Ariz., will be second vice president.

Ronald O. Loveridge, mayor of Riverside, Calif., becomes NLC Immediate Past President. Past presidents include John DeStefano Jr., mayor, New Haven, Conn., James C. Hunt, councilmember, Clarksburg, W.Va., and Brian J. O'Neill, councilman, Philadelphia.

The following is a list of the 2011 Board of Directors, half of whom will serve out the remainder of a term and half of whom were elected at the Congress of Cities:

Ulysses Z. Addison Jr., councilmembet, Baton Rouge, La.

David Baker, mayor, Kenmore, Wash.

Ralph E. Becker, mayor, Salt Lake City, Utah

Geoffrey C. Beckwith, executive director, Massachusetts Municipal Association

M. Margaret Bates, commissioner, Lauderhill, Fla.

Charles Blango, alderman, New Haven, Conn.

Carl Brewer, mayor, Wichita, Kan.

Kenneth H. Bullock, executive director, Utah League of Cities and Towns

Gary Campbell, city director/vice mayor, Fort Smith, Ark.

Sheri Capehart, council member, Arlington, Texas

Nancy Carter, council member, Charlotte, N.C.


Julian Castro, mayor, San Antonio, Texas

Chris Coleman, mayor, Saint Paul, Minnesota

Sandra Colvin-Roy, council member, Minneapolis

John Cook, mayor, El Paso, Texas

John A. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.