Magazine article Marketing

Marketing Promotion: Marketing Society Awards

Magazine article Marketing

Marketing Promotion: Marketing Society Awards

Article excerpt

As the 11 February deadline for entries to The Marketing Society Awards for Excellence 2011 approaches, we look at why you should be part of the annual event, which this year promises to be better than ever.

If you want to prove you are up there with the elite in marketing, it's time to submit your best work for consideration at the 2011 Marketing Society Awards for Excellence, in association with Marketing, and sponsored by BT.

Over the past 26 years, The Marketing Society Awards have set the standard for marketing excellence and established a reputation as the leading marketing awards programme in the UK.

This year there is a new identity, designed by Kitcatt Nohr Alexander Shaw, and an unprecedented number of opportunities to be a winner. The 22 categories include a new Mobile Marketing award as well as ones for Customer Insight, New Brand and Brand Extension.

In addition, the awards night itself, at the London Hilton, Park Lane, on Monday 6 June, will be a memorable opportunity to celebrate in the company of the UK's leading marketers.

This year, the chairman of the awards judges is Ken Wood, chief executive, Weetabix. He will preside over a panel of expert marketers that also includes Rupert Thomas, marketing director of Waitrose, Jon Goldstone, marketing director of Premier Foods, and Jan Gooding, global brand director of Aviva.

Each year these awards add to the industry's knowledge on marketing excellence. The winning case studies will appear in Marketing and on its website (

All shortlisted and winning case studies will also be available for members of The Marketing Society via its website ( Selected winners, meanwhile, will be showcased at Marketing Society events throughout the year.

The Marketing Society will be publishing more insights from the panel of awards judges over the next few weeks. To read these, visit The Marketing Society's blog at

The closing date for entries to The Marketing Society Awards for Excellence 2011 is 11 February. For full details of how to enter, visit

The Marketing Society Awards for Excellence 2011

6 June 2011, 7pm - 1am, London Hilton, Park Lane

Contact Steven Lewis on 020 8267 4042 for further details.


Ken Wood, chief executive, Weetabix (chairman of the judges), Ian Armstrong, European communications manager, Honda, Kerris Bright, chief marketing officer, BA, Sally Cowdry, UK marketing director, O2, Martin George, chief marketing officer, Bupa, Jon Goldstone, marketing director, Premier Foods, Jan Gooding, global brand director, Aviva, Craig Inglis, marketing director, John Lewis, Chris Jansen, marketing director British Gas Services, Catherine Kehoe, group brand and communications director, Lloyds TSB, Vince Kerr, marketing director, UK and Ireland, Fujitsu, Alistair Macrow, UK marketing director, McDonald's, Pete Markey, marketing director, RSA, Ian Marsh, marketing director, Blackrock, Sheila Mitchell, deputy director marketing, Department of Health, Professor Vince-Wayne Mitchell, Cass Business School, Dawn Paine, marketing director, Nintendo, Amanda Rendle, global head of marketing CMB, HSBC, Timothy Ryan, senior vice-president marketing, EMI Music, Jim Slater, marketing director, Costa, Rupert Thomas, marketing director, Waitrose, Suki Thompson, managing partner, Oystercatchers, Sarah Warby, marketing director, Heineken. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.