Magazine article New Zealand Management

World Class New Zealand: A Roll Call of Top Kiwis

Magazine article New Zealand Management

World Class New Zealand: A Roll Call of Top Kiwis

Article excerpt

The World Class New Zealand Awards are a key element in global network Kea's strategy for creating the most successful and connected expat network in the world.

World Class New Zealand is a New Zealand Trade and Enterprise initiative delivered by Kea.

Kea's goal is to activate the one million Kiwis living abroad, to contribute to New Zealand's success and reputation on the world stage.

It employs a collaborative approach to activating New Zealand's economy through a network of leading New Zealanders and friends of New Zealand who open up new opportunities for the country.

The network is also the destination for New Zealanders wishing to tap into these connections, and seek help from the leaders in their field. At the heart of this is the aspiration to build an innovative New Zealand.

The annual World Class New Zealand Awards acknowledge the outstanding achievements of leading New Zealanders and friends of New Zealand. (See the coverage of this year's award winners on pages 26-37.) The awards were presented at a black tie gala dinner in Auckland on May 23.

The awards programme began in 2003 with a single award and expanded to the current programme which recognises high performers in various disciplines and honours a Supreme Award Winner and a Friend of New Zealand.

Past winners are a roll call of high-performing Kiwis and supporters of New Zealand and the following pages feature a selection of the award winners of recent years.

2012 Winners

Supreme: Sir Paul Callaghan

Iconic New Zealander: Dame Kiri Te Kanawa

Information and Communications:

Dr. David Kirk

Creative: Ian Taylor

Life Sciences: Sir Graeme Douglas

Manufacturing, Design and Innovation: Jeremy Moon

Science, Technology and Academia:

Professor Malcolm Grant

Investment and Business:

Hon. Peter S Watson

New Thinking: Tony Falkenstein

2011 Winners

Supreme: Dr Howard Harper

Friend of New Zealand: Rt Hon Lord Denman

Information & Communications:

Michael Boustridge

Creative: Michael Stedman

Life Sciences:

Emeritus Professor Robert (Bob) Elliott

Manufacturing, Design & Innovation:

Sir George Fistonich

Science, Technology & Academia:

Dame Anne Salmond

Investment & Business: Dame Judith Mayhew Jonas

New Thinking: Sam Morgan

2010 Winners

Supreme: Professor Richard Faull

Friend of New Zealand: Julian Robertson

Information & Communications: Ian McCrae

Creative: Mark D'Arcy

Life Sciences: Dr Jilly Evans

Manufacturing, Design & Innovation:

Bill Gallagher

Science, Technology & Academia:

Professor Ian Witten

Investment & Business: Sir Ron Carter

New Thinking: Dr Kerry Spackman

2009 Winners

Supreme: Richard Taylor

Information & Communications:

Craig Nevill-Manning

Creative: Karen Walker

Life Sciences: Ray Avery

Manufacturing, Design & Innovation:

Jane Hunter

Science, Technology & Academia: Peter Hunter

Investment & Business: John Buchanan

New Thinking: Phillip Mills

2008 Winners

Supreme: Peri Drysdale

Information & Communications: Rod Drury

Creative: Phil Keoghan

Life Sciences: Professor Garth Cooper

Manufacturing, Design & Innovation:

Maurice Prendergast

Science, Technology & Academia:

Professor Margaret Brimble

Investment & Business: Craig Norgate

New Thinking: Bruce Farr

2007 Winners

Supreme: Dr John Hood

Information & Communications: Brian Peace

Creative: Kevin Roberts

Life Sciences: Dr John Bedbrook

Manufacturing, Design & Innovation:

Geoff Ross

Science, Technology & Academia:

Dr Paul Callaghan

Investment & Business: Ralph Norris

2006 Winners

Supreme: Professor Alan MacDiarmid

Information & Communications:

Dr Mark Billinghurst

Creative: Brent Hansen

Life Sciences: Dr Simon Moroney

Manufacturing, Design & Innovation:

Ken Stevens

Science, Technology & Academia:

Professor Peter Gluckman

Investment & Business: Christopher Liddell

2004 Winner

Dr Richard Mander

Mander is a technology design expert who has been an active overseas ambassador for New Zealand business for many years. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.