Magazine article AI Magazine

Member News

Magazine article AI Magazine

Member News

Article excerpt

AAAI congratulates Edward Feigenbaum, Peter Norvig, Ken Ford, Yoav Shoham, and Moshe Tennenholtz on the following honors!

Edward Feigenbaum to Receive IEEE Computer Society Pioneer Award

Edward Feigenbaum, Stanford University Professor Emeritus, and former President of AAAI, has the distinction of being named the IEEE Computer Society's 2013 Computer Pioneer Award recipient. Feigenbaum received the award "for pioneering work in artificial intelligence, including development of the basic principles and methods of knowledge-based systems and their practical applications." The Pioneer Award is given for significant contributions to early concepts and developments in the electronic computer field, which have clearly advanced the state-of-the-art in computing.

Feigenbaum holds BS and PhD degrees from Carnegie Mellon University, where his dissertation, supervised by Nobel Laureate Herbert Simon, produced the first computer simulation of human learning. In 1965, Feigenbaum joined the Stanford University computer science faculty, where he and Nobel laureate biologist Joshua Lederberg started the DENDRAL project, producing the world's first expert system. He coauthored and coedited Computers and Thought, and the four-volume encyclopedia Handbook of Artificial Intelligence. From 1994 to 1997, he served as chief scientist of the US Air Force; and was awarded its Exceptional Civilian Service Award.

The Computer Pioneer Award was established in 1981 by the Board of Governors of the IEEE Computer Society to recognize and honor the vision of those people whose efforts resulted in the creation and continued vitality of the computer industry. The award is presented to outstanding individuals whose main contribution to the concepts and development of the computer field was made at least 15 years earlier. The recognition is engraved on a bronze medal specially struck for the Society.

Peter Norvig Elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences

The American Academy of Arts and Sciences announced its list of 2013 elected members, including AAAI Fellow Peter Norvig of Google. Membership in the American Academy of Arts and Sciences is considered one of the nation's highest honors, with those elected recognized as leaders in the arts, public affairs, business, and academic disciplines. As the leading independent policy research center in the United States, as well as one of the oldest and most prestigious honorary societies, the organization promotes multidisciplinary studies of complex and emerging issues and fosters the exchange of ideas. Peter Norvig is known most for his broad expertise in computer science and artificial intelligence, exemplified by his coauthorship (with Stuart Russell) of the leading college text, Artificial Intelligence: A Modern Approach. With more than 50 publications and a plethora of web pages, essays, and software programs on a wide variety of computer science topics, Norvig serves as an excellent catalyst of fundamental research across a wide range of disciplines while remaining a hands-on scientist who writes his own code. Before joining Google, Norvig was head of the Computational Sciences Division at NASA Ames Research Center, overseeing a 200-person team pursuing research and development in multidisciplinary fields, from robotics to neuro-engineering. Norvig currently serves as a director of research at Google. Most recently, he generated excitement in massively open online courses (MOOC) via well-known courses on artificial intelligence and the design of computer programs. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.