Magazine article Gramophone

B Mantovani: Huit Moments Musicaux

Magazine article Gramophone

B Mantovani: Huit Moments Musicaux

Article excerpt

Huit Moments musicaux (a). Cinq Pieces pour Paul Klee (b). Suonare (c). D'une seul voix (a). All'ungarese (e)

(de) Jean-Marc Phillips-Varjabedian vn

(bd) Raphael Pidoux vc (b) Vincent Coq,

(ce) Claire Desert pfs (e) Trio Wanderer

Mirare (F) MIR159 (71' * DDD)

Works for piano and strings inspired by men from the past

Paul Klee's 'taking a line for a walk' has been cited by many composers, though the result invariably underlines the profound differences between painting and music. Bruno Mantovani's Cinq Pieces pour Paul Klee for cello and piano is one of the five works on this disc all written between 2006 and 2008--that take lines for runs rather than walks, seeking to maintain perceptible continuity within structures that resonate with traditional musical associations. Maintaining continuity is easy enough; the challenge is to invent sufficiently varied contexts of space, time and colour to avoid the sense--all too frequent here--of lines revolving in ever-narrowing circles rather than making purposeful yet unpredictable forward progress. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.