Magazine article Gramophone

Bartok * Hindemith * Prokofiev: 'Solo 2'

Magazine article Gramophone

Bartok * Hindemith * Prokofiev: 'Solo 2'

Article excerpt

Bartok * Hindemith * Prokofiev

'Solo 2'

Bartok Solo Violin Sonata, Sz117

Hindemith Solo Violin Sonatas, Op 31--No 1; No 2, 'Es ist so schones Wetter draussen ...'

Prokofiev Solo Violin Sonata, Op 115

Ning Feng vn

Channel Classics (F) ** CCSSA34413 (70' * DDD/DSD)

Twentieth-century works on Feng's second solo violin disc

This follow-up to Feng's 2010 collection 'Solo' (11/10) has more of a musical thesis running through it than its predecessor's violinistic barnstormers (and his 2007 disc 'Hello Mr Paganini'--2/08). This is welcome, as it polishes away the commerical sheen that obscured some extraordinary playing, and here Feng gets down to the more substantial business of defining virtuosity through four of the 20th century's heaviest works for unaccompanied violin. His performances of all of them unveil his artistry and musical thought in a way more redolent of his live performance persona than the evidence we have hitherto had on disc, exposing him for the thoughtful--as well as astonishingly accurate and nimble musician he is. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.