Magazine article Gramophone

Iyer: 'Mutations'

Magazine article Gramophone

Iyer: 'Mutations'

Article excerpt



Spellbound and Sacrosanct, Cowrie Shells and the Shimmering Sea (a). Vuln, Part 2 (b).

Mutations I-X (c). When We're Gone (b)

Vijay Iyer pf/(b) elecs

(c) Miranda Cuckson, Michi Wiancko vns

(c) Kyle Armbrust va (c) Kivie Cahn-Lipman vc

ECM New Series [F] 376 4798 (59' * DDD)

Vijay Iyer is the newly installed Franklin D and Florence Rosenblatt Professor of the Arts at Harvard. His background is in jazz but of late he has moved towards a crossover style, blending to various degrees elements of contemporary jazz and classical music.

Spellbound and Sacrosanct, Cowrie Shells and the Shimmering Sea was originally written for trio and appeared on disc in 1995. The version included here is a reworking for solo piano and shows Iyer in reflective mood, the result an atmospheric, jazz-inflected nocturne. Vuln, Part 2, by contrast, dates from last year and is more robust (though the brief note provided by Iyer gives no hint of its inspiration or the whereabouts of Part 1; the bulk of the booklet is given over to session photographs). …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.