Magazine article Gramophone

Brahms: Clarinet Quintet

Magazine article Gramophone

Brahms: Clarinet Quintet

Article excerpt

Brahms [EC] [GP]

Clarinet Quintet, Op 115 [a]. Clarinet Trio, Op 114 [b]. Funf Lieder, Op 105 [c]--No 1, Wie Melodien zieht es mir; No 2, Immer leiser wird mein Schlummer. Feldeinsamkeit, Op 86 No 2 [c]. Madchenlied, Op 107 No 5 [c]. Die Mainacht, Op 43 No 2 [c]. Vergebliches Standchen, Op 84 No 4 [c]

Martin Frost cl [a] Janine Jansen, [a] Boris Brovtsyn vns

[a] Maxim Rysanov va [ab] Torleif Thedeen vc

[bc] Roland Pontinen pf

BIS [F]) [DVD-D] BIS2063 (79' * DDD/DSD)

[b] From BIS-SACD1353 (4/06)

Contradictions rule. Brahms's biographer Florence May (1905) says of the Clarinet Quintet: 'The tone of gentle loving regret that prevails suggests the composer's feeling that the evening is not far away from him.' William Murdoch (1933) disagrees: 'Rapturous, one can hardly believe that the composer is not a young man full of the joy of life.' Early recordings are divided too, Charles Draper (1928) broadly closer to May whereas Reginald Kell (1937), Frederick Thurston (1941), Leopold Wlach and Alfred Boskovsky (1950s) are generally with Murdoch. Martin Frost finds the tone of gentle love but no regret, autumnal but not wistful, with a young man's spring fire coursing through the scherzo. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.