Magazine article Gramophone

Ysaye: Solo Violin Sonatas, Op 27

Magazine article Gramophone

Ysaye: Solo Violin Sonatas, Op 27

Article excerpt


Solo Violin Sonatas, Op 27

Tianwa Yang vn

Naxos [B] 8 572995 (74' * DDD)


The six Solo Violin Sonatas of Eugene Ysaye were written for the six great violin virtuosos of his day: Szigeti, Thibaud, Enescu, Kreisler, and the less well known Mathieu Crickboom and Manuel Quiroga. They are still held close to the hearts of violinists who seek to defeat the technical challenges that often see them commandeered for flashy performances by prodigies not ready to apprehend their full depth. To that end, the best recordings are usually those that sense the imminent threat latent in the relationship between the Bach that is either referenced or directly quoted, and Ysaye's own decaying version of it. Bach haunts theses sonatas, rather than inhabits them, and so to approach them in a wholly emotional way, as Yang does, may be considered by some to miss the inherent creepiness that makes them so overwhelmingly effective. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.