Magazine article Gramophone


Magazine article Gramophone


Article excerpt

Vivaldi [G]

'Concerti per flauto'

Concertos--'Il gardellino', RV90; La pastorella', V95; RV103; RV375; 'La notte', Op 10 No 2

RV439; RV443; RV566

Maurice Steger rec/flautino

I Barocchisti / Diego Fasolis

Harmonia Mundi [F] HMC90 2190 (69' * DDD)

In a world with no shortage of Vivaldi recorder concerto discs, avoiding the routine is a must. Some fail, some try too hard, but the staggeringly talented Maurice Steger finds an excellent balance here, first by his thoughtful selection of pieces and then by the specific interpretative care he gives to each of them.

Selection first: we get the well-known descriptive concertos II gardellino (in its colourful 'chamber' version), La notte (in its 'orchestral' Op 10 version) and La pastorella-, we get the famous 'sopranino' RV443, though transcribed down a fourth on to descant, as Vivaldi himself seems to have sanctioned; we get the recorder gamboling among friends in the 'mold stromenti' concerto RV566 and in the chamber concerto RV103; and we get Steger's own transcription of a violin concerto, RV375, apparently done for the simple reason that he wanted some different technical and musical challenges. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.