Magazine article Gramophone

Moss: D'un Silence

Magazine article Gramophone

Moss: D'un Silence

Article excerpt


D'un silence ... (a). Loneliness (b)

(b) Jadwiga Rappe contr (a) Jean-Marc Fessard cl/bcl Polish National Radio Symphony Orchestra/(a) Michat Klauza, (b) Jerzy Maksymiuk

Dux [F] DUX1118 (68' * DDD * T)


Chances are that Piotr Moss is the most notable living French composer born in Poland. Now in his mid-sixties, he studied with such luminaries as Bacewicz and Penderecki before heading to Paris, where he was guided by the redoubtable Nadia Boulanger, and where he has resided since 1981. The two pieces here confirm a predilection for large-scale forms and an overtly (if not unduly) serious manner of expression. D'un silence (1989) is a concerto for clarinet (with recourse to bass clarinet) and an orchestra rich in timbral and textural possibilities. Its 38 minutes take in several contrasted sections, with the rhythms of the oberek and the waltz often evident. The result is a discursive yet focused entity as affords the soloist prominence within a symphonic conception, and in which Jean-Marc Fessard acquits himself with aplomb. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.