Magazine article Gramophone

Hasse: 'Sonatas from the Italian Manuscripts'

Magazine article Gramophone

Hasse: 'Sonatas from the Italian Manuscripts'

Article excerpt


'Sonatas from the Italian Manuscripts'

Sonatas del Sig Sassone--In F; in G.

Sonatas--No 4; No 5. Fuga e Moderato.

Harpsichord Concerto

Andrea Bacchetti pf

RCA Red Seal [F] 88883 72520-2 (54' * DDD)

Known for his immense and influential operatic and sacred output, Johann Adolf Hasse wrote relatively little for solo keyboard. All but two of the works on this disc constitute world premieres, while the two-movement Sonatas Nos 4 and 5 receive their first recordings on a modern concert grand. Not that the choice of instrument really matters, because the music's textural dimensions and technical challenges are modest at best; to play a Hasse sonata on a nine-foot Fazioli Model F278 is like driving a Rolls-Royce to go get a pasty or a pretzel. Yet with Andrea Bacchetti behind the proverbial wheel, one should be grateful.

Aside from a discreet filled-in octave or embellishment here and there, Bacchetti plays these works simply and directly, with just enough colour and nuance to keep things interesting without overloading the music. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.