Magazine article Gramophone

Reicha: Wind Quintets-Op 88 No 3

Magazine article Gramophone

Reicha: Wind Quintets-Op 88 No 3

Article excerpt


Wind Quintets--Op 88 No 3; Op 100 No 6.

Adagio 'pour le cor anglais'

Belen Nieto Galan fl Sarah Assmann ob/cora

Diederik Ornee cl Jose Rodrigues Gomes bn

Hylke Rozema hn

Linn [F] CKD471 (67' * DDD)

The name's Reicha, not Reich. Anton Reicha was born Antonin Rejcha in Prague, an exact contemporary of Beethoven, whom he befriended in Bonn; later he moved to Paris, where, as Antoine Reicha, he composed a series of 24 wind quintets, introduced in the lobby of the Theatre Favart in 1817-19, performances that became the place to be seen in Parisian society. Not only that, but they were thought of as the finest works in the relatively new wind quintet genre.

They are all four-movement creations, reliant on the tonal and gestural language of Mozart and Haydn, with some of Beethoven's drive in the faster music. Reicha was a flautist and so knew the ins and outs of woodwind-writing, and managed to compose in a style that suited his players and made the most of the varied characters of the five instruments. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.