Magazine article AI Magazine

Congratulations to the 2016 AAAI Award Winners!

Magazine article AI Magazine

Congratulations to the 2016 AAAI Award Winners!

Article excerpt

Tom Dietterich, AAAI President, Manuela Veloso, AAAI Past President and Awards Committee Chair, and Rao Kambhampati, AAAI President-Elect, presented the AAAI Awards in February at AAAI-16 in Phoenix.

AAAI Classic Paper Award

The 2016 AAAI Classic Paper Award was given to the authors of the two papers deemed most influential from the Fifteenth National Conference on Artificial Intelligence, held in 1998 in Madison, Wisconsin, USA. The 2016 recipients of the AAAI Classic Paper Award were:

The Interactive Museum Tour-Guide Robot (Wolfram Burgard, Armin B. Cremers, Dieter Fox, Dirk Hahnel, Gerhard Lakemeyer, Dirk Schulz, Walter Steiner, and Sebastian Thrun)

Boosting Combinatorial Search through Randomization (Carla P. Gomes, Bart Selman, and Henry Kautz)

Burgard and colleagues were honored for significant contributions to probabilistic robot navigation and the integration with high-level planning methods, while Gomes, Selman, and Kautz were recognized for their significant contributions to the area of automated reasoning and constraint solving through the introduction of randomization and restarts into complete solvers. Wolfram Burgard and Carla Gomes presented invited talks during the conference in recognition of this honor.

For more information about nominations for AAAI 2017 Awards, please contact Carol Hamilton at

AAAI-16 Outstanding Paper Awards.

This year, AAAI's Conference on Artificial Intelligence honored the following two papers, which exemplify high standards in technical contribution and exposition by regular and student authors.

AAAI-16 Outstanding Paper Award

Bidirectional Search That Is Guaranteed to Meet in the Middle (Robert C. Holte, Ariel Felner, Guni Sharon, Nathan R. Sturtevant)

AAAI-16 Outstanding Student Paper Award

Toward a Taxonomy and Computational Models of Abnormalities in Images (Babak Saleh, Ahmed Elgammal, Jacob Feldman, Ali Farhadi)

IAAI-16 Innovative Application Awards

Each year the AAAI Conference on Innovative Applications selects the recipients of the IAAI Innovative Application Award. These deployed application case study papers must describe deployed applications with measurable benefits that include some aspect of AI technology. The application needs to have been in production use by its final end-users for sufficiently long so that the experience in use can be meaningfully collected and reported. The 2016 winners were as follows:

Deploying PAWS: Field Optimization of the Protection Assistant for Wildlife Security (Fei Fang, Thanh H. Nguyen, Rob Pickles, Wai Y. Lam, Gopalasamy R. Clements, Bo An, Amandeep Singh, Milind Tambe, Andrew Lemieux)

Ontology Re-Engineering: A Case Study from the Automotive Industry (Nestor Rychtyckyj, Baskaran Sankaranarayanan, P Sreenivasa Kumar, Deepak Khemani, Venkatesh Raman)

Deploying nEmesis: Preventing Foodborne Illness by Data Mining Social Media (Adam Sadilek, Henry Kautz, Lauren DiPrete, Brian Labus, Eric Portman, Jack Teitel, Vincent Silenzio)

Special Computing Community Consortium (CCC) Blue Sky Awards.

AAAI-16, in cooperation with the CRA Computing Community Consortium (CCC), honored three papers in the Senior Member track that presented ideas and visions that can stimulate the research community to pursue new directions, such as new problems, new application domains, or new methodologies. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.