Magazine article Gramophone

Mozart: Piano Concertos-No 1

Magazine article Gramophone

Mozart: Piano Concertos-No 1

Article excerpt


Piano Concertos--No 1, K37; No 17, K453; No 20, K466 Ingrid Jacoby pf Academy of St Martin in the Fields / Sir Neville Marriner ICA Classics (F) ICAC5137 (80' * DDD)


Brave is the soul who dares to allow him or herself to be compared to the great Mozart pianists of the past and present. Ingrid Jacoby

does just that in the latest instalment in a continuing concerto cycle, contrasting early--the First Concerto, a pasticcio of sonata movements by Raupach, unknown and Honauer--with late, in the form of the D minor K466, perhaps the most famous of them all, and the G major K453, an instant charmer even if it's often overshadowed by its big brothers.

Jacoby responds well to the character of K45 3 but the figurations are so well honed that they come to feel rather too pat, as if Jacoby were keen to show that all that practice had paid off. Minor features such as a sudden piano on the repeat of a figure seem too well prepared and go on to become tics rather than responses to a musical discourse. Nevertheless, her playing is muscular and blends well with the Academy and Marriner, who have this music in their blood and play with their trademark urbanity and flexibility virtually throughout. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.