Magazine article Gramophone

Schumann: 'Complete Symphonic Works, Vol 6'

Magazine article Gramophone

Schumann: 'Complete Symphonic Works, Vol 6'

Article excerpt


'Complete Symphonic Works, Vol 6' Shymphony, 'Zwickau', Wo029. Genoveva, Op 81--Overture. Szenen aus Goethes Faust, WoO3--Overture. Overtures--Die Braut von Messina, Op 100; Hermann und Dorothea, Op 136; Julius Caesar, Op 128; Manfred, Op 115

WDR Symphony Orchestra, Cologne / Heinz Holliger

Audite (F) AUDITE97 705 (76' * DDD)

With this sixth and final volume in his series of the 'Complete Symphonic Works', Heinz Holliger mops up the remaining segment of Schumann's orchestral output. That's all six of his overtures: operatic ('Genoveva), quasi-operatic (Faust Scenes), Shakespearean (Julius Caesar), Byronesque (Manfred) and German Romantic (Schiller's The Bride of Messina and a delightfully loopy response to Goethe's Hermann and Dorothea, complete with a plethora of piped renditions of the Marseilleise). To fill up the disc there's Schumann's first attempt at a symphony, the two movements of a work in G minor that's now most commonly known as the 'Zwickau' Symphony.

That makes Holliger's the most complete cycle of the orchestral works to have arrived in ages. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.