Magazine article Gramophone

Ysaye: Au Rouet

Magazine article Gramophone

Ysaye: Au Rouet

Article excerpt


Au rouet (a). Berceuse, Op 20 (a). Chant d'hiver, Op 15 (a). Divertimento, Op 24b. Extase, Op 21 (b). Neiges d'antan. Op 23 (b). Reve d'enfant, Op 14 (a) (a) Amaury Coeytaux, (b) Svetlin Roussev vns Liege Royal Philharmonic Orchestra / Jean-Jacques Kantorow Musique en Wallonie (F) MEW1681 (70' * DDD)


The poeme, wrote Eugene Ysaye, 'is free from all the restrictions imposed by the hallowed concerto form; it can be dramatic and lyrical, it is by nature romantic and impressionistic ... it is, in a word, a picture painted without a model'.

I couldn't have come up with a better description of the three poemes (he wrote seven in total) that form the backbone of this collection of Ysaye's shorter works for violin and orchestra.

The shape of all three is similar: an opening shrouded in Wagnerian gloom, the violin soaring free, the orchestra surging in response, a stormy climax about two thirds of the way in and an extended coda. They're all in a single movement and all about 10-15 minutes long (Ysaye's tendinitis may have been one reason for writing these shorter works, though apparently he played them relatively infrequently). …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.