Magazine article Techniques

ACTE Awards Banquet

Magazine article Techniques

ACTE Awards Banquet

Article excerpt

Sarah Raikes

Shelli Sowles

Samuel Cotton

Edward Lazaros

Leon Grant


Awards Banquet. More than 400 educators, business representatives, friends and family members joined these finalists and winners for a dinner celebration that included remarks by Brian Mitchell, director of the Nevada Governor's Office of Science, Innovation and Technology.

2017 ACTE Member Award Winners

Teacher of the Year

(Sponsored by Express Employment Professionals)

Sarah Raikes, FACS Teacher, Washington County High School, Kentucky

Career Guidance Award

(Sponsored by the U.S. Army)

Shelli Sowles, College and Career Readiness Specialist, Northeast Metro 916 Intermediate School District, Minnesota

Administrator of the Year

Samuel Cotton, Professor, Ball State University, Indiana

Postsecondary Teacher of the Year

Edward Lazaros, Associate Professor, Ball State University, Indiana

Carl Perkins Community Service Award

Leon Grant, Pre-Engineering Instructor, Marietta City Schools, Georgia

New Teacher of the Year

Jacob Scott Ball, Agriculture Teacher, Nelson County High School, Kentucky

Lifetime Achievement Award

Donna Metcalf, Organizational and Instructional Development Coordinator, Kiamichi Technology Center, Oklahoma

2017 ACTE Image Award Winners

Business Leader of the Year

Bob Funk, CEO and Chairman of the Board, Express Employment Professionals

Business of the Year


Champion of the Year

Jerry Ellner, National Director of High School Development, Universal Technical Institute

2017 ACTE Regional Award Winners

(National winners denoted by an asterisk)

Teacher of the Year

Region I: Brandon Soards, Maine

Region II: Sarah Raikes, Kentucky (*)

Region III: Callon Siebenahler, Mnnesota

Region IV: Bart Taylor, Texas

Region V: Wendy Frazier-Snyder, Utah

Career Guidance Award

Region I: Tracy Hetrick, Ohio

Region II: Monica Crenshaw, Georgia

Region III: Shelli Sowles, Mnnesota (*)

Region IV: Amy Kuhns, Texas

Region V: Tina Boone, Montana

Administrator of the Year

Region I: Dave Keaton, Maine

Region II: Sherri C. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.