Magazine article Gramophone

Walton: Violin Concerto

Magazine article Gramophone

Walton: Violin Concerto

Article excerpt


Violin Concerto (a). Partita. Sptifire Prelude and Fugue. Variations on a Theme by Hindemith (a) Anthony Mar wood vn BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra / Martyn Brabbins

Hyperion (F) CDA67986 (81' * DDD)

Having already given us impressive versions of the two symphonies I (Hyperion, 10/11), Martyn Brabbins and the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra turn their sights on a farther clutch of Walton masterworks.

Proceedings are launched in fine style with a supremely affectionate and agreeably lithe account of the immensely personable concerto that Walton conceived for the great Jascha Heifetz. Anthony Marwood proves an enviably secure and articulate soloist, and if Tasmin Little (Chandos) manages to convey a tad greater warmth, caprice and flair (her alliance with Edward Gardner and the BBC SO is an especially gratifying one), he and Brabbins nonetheless generate a nourishing rapport, and their consistently absorbing performance will unquestionably give lasting pleasure.

Next comes the by turns exuberant and sultry Partita that Walton wrote in 1957 as a showpiece for George Szell and the Cleveland Orchestra. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.