Magazine article Editor & Publisher

2018 PULITZER PRIZE WINNERS: New York Times Receives Three Awards, Washington Post and Reuters Receive Two

Magazine article Editor & Publisher

2018 PULITZER PRIZE WINNERS: New York Times Receives Three Awards, Washington Post and Reuters Receive Two

Article excerpt

The 2018 Pulitzer Prizes were revealed on April 16 at Columbia University. Dana Canedy, the program's new administrator and the first woman and African-American to hold the position, announced the 102nd class of winners in the 14 journalism categories and seven letters, drama and music categories to a packed audience. In journalism, 1,217 entries were submitted this year.

Last year, journalists broke stories of longtime abusers and helped launched the =MeToo Movement. Jodi Jantor and Megan Twohey of the New York Times and Ronan Farrow of the New Yorker brought national attention to the sexual abuse of women taking place in Hollywood. Both publications shared the Pulitzer Prize in Public Service. Meanwhile, the staff of the Press Democrat in Santa Rosa, Calif, was recognized for their breaking news coverage of the wildfires that devastated Northern California in October 2017. The New York Tunes received three Pulitzer Prizes this year, and the Washington Post and Reuters each earned two. Seven freelancers won prizes.

Looking forward, Canedy has expressed that she hopes more conservative journalists and columnists, young digital news organizations, and more people using new technologies and platforms apply for Pulitzer Prizes in the future.

For a complete list of 2018 Pulitzer Prize winners and finalists, visit


* Public Service

The New York Times and the New Yorker

* Breaking News Reporting

The staff of the Press Democrat, Santa Rosa. Calif.

* Investigative Reporting

The staff of the Washington Post

* Explanatory Reporting

The staff of the Arizona Republic and USA Today Network

* Local Reporting

The staff of the Cincinnati Enquirer

* National Reporting

The staffs of the New York Times and the Washington Post

* International Reporting

Clare Baldwin. Andrew R.C. Marshall, and Manuel Mogato of Reuters

* Feature Writing

Rache Kaadzi Ghansah. freelance reporter, GQ

* Commentary

John Archibald of Alabama Media Group, Birmingham, Ala.

* Criticism

Jerry Saltz of New York magazine

* Editorial Writing

Andie Domiriick of the Des Moines Register

* Editorial Cartooning

Jake Halpern, freelance writer, and Michael Sloan, freelance cartoonist of the New York Times

* Breaking News Photography

Ryan Kelly of the Daily Progress, Charlottesville, Va.

* Feature Photography

The photography staff of Reuters

Caption: New York Times reporters Megan Twohey (left), Jodi Kantor (right), joined by executive editor Dean Baquet, celebrate as the New York Times wins the Pulitzer Prize for Public Service. (Photo by Hiroko Masuike/New York Times)

Caption: New Yorker reporter Ronan Farrow (left), winner of the Public Service Pulitzer Prize, is accompanied by commentary finalist Jelani Cobb (center) and editor David Remnick (right) in the New Yorker's newsroom. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.