Magazine article Gramophone

Prokofiev * Ravel: Prokofiev Piano Sonata No 4, Op 29

Magazine article Gramophone

Prokofiev * Ravel: Prokofiev Piano Sonata No 4, Op 29

Article excerpt

Prokofiev * Ravel

Prokofiev Piano Sonata No 4, Op 29.

Ten Pieces, Op 12. Toccata, Op 11

Ravel Le tombeau de Couperin

Nathalia Milstein pf

Mirare (F) MIR350 (74' * DDD)

Reviewing debut discs can be hazardous in the light of later developments. The first Gramophone review of Argerich, for instance, now appears comically high-handed: 'When she realises that there's more to a presto than mere speed, more to double octaves than mere thunder, and more to music than keyboard effectiveness, I'm sure she will be quite a pianist.' Fortunately in the case of Nathalia Milstein, winner of the 2015 Dublin International Piano Competition, the path is partially cleared, thanks to glowing reviews of the violin-and-piano disc she released last year with her sister Maria (2/18).

As with that disc, her solo debut has a carefully planned programme, this time juxtaposing Ravel and Prokofiev and thereby bringing together her own French and Russian identities. Having often been associated with the legendary violinist Nathan Milstein, Nathalia had to set the record right by posting that 'I am not that Milstein'. At the same time, she revealed her no less distinguished lineage back to her grandfather, Yakov, whose book on Bach's Well-Tempered Clavier I myself read as a textbook for students at the Kiev Conservatory. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.