Magazine article School Librarian

Tsang, Katie and Tsang, Kevin: Sam Wu Is Not Afraid of Ghosts!

Magazine article School Librarian

Tsang, Katie and Tsang, Kevin: Sam Wu Is Not Afraid of Ghosts!

Article excerpt

Tsang, Katie and Tsang, Kevin

Sam Wu is Not Afraid of Ghosts!

Egmont, 2018, pp224, 5.99 [pounds sterling]

978 1 4052 8751 7

This book is a must for fans of Tom Gates, Barry Loser and other books in the illustrated fiction genre. I suspect that one of the reasons for their popularity is their ease of reading; great illustrations coupled with punchy text and characters who come alive on the page. These books are perfect for newly confident readers who want to enjoy a 'proper' book but don't want to be overwhelmed by pages of worthy text.

I loved this book. It is so refreshing to find culturally diverse characters who are entertaining but also believable; there is nothing worse than 'worthy' fiction! Sam's cultural heritage resonates throughout this whole story without it actually being part of the plot. When Sam's friends visit his house, he worries that they may find it strange that his family eats with chopsticks and one of his favourite meals is duck and turnip cake. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed

Oops!

An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.