Magazine article American Nurse Today

ANA Announces 2018 National Awards Honorees

Magazine article American Nurse Today

ANA Announces 2018 National Awards Honorees

Article excerpt

The American Nurses Association (ANA) has announced its 2018 National Awards recipients. ANAs National Awards honor outstanding nurses whose dedication and achievements have contributed significantly to the nursing profession.

This year's 12 honorees include two nurses who will be inducted into ANAs Hall of Fame, and 10 RNs who will receive Honorary Awards. A ceremony to honor the 12 award recipients will be held June 22 at the Washington Hilton in Washington, D.C., during ANAs Membership Assembly.

ANA is honored to induct two Hall of Fame Award recipients for 2018: Barbara J. Drew, PhD, RN, FAAN, FAHA, ANA\California, and the late Marie Louise Fitzpatrick, EdD, RN, FAAN, Pennsylvania State Nurses Association.

Drew's cardiovascular nursing research has brought valuable improvements to patient care and nursing scholarship. Her 30 years of research and publication work, focused on cardiac monitoring, has led to major changes in the clinical care of patients with heart disease. Drew has demonstrated an extraordinary commitment to furthering excellence in nursing science. In her work with organizations, she has often moved them toward more productive interdisciplinary goals and to the adoption of clinical guidelines that reflect nursing research and the concerns of clinical nurses.

Fitzpatrick was a visionary leader and champion for the nursing profession, international healthcare, and nursing education. She was the Connelly Endowed Dean and Professor of the College of Nursing at Villanova University-a position she held for nearly 40 years. Under her leadership, Villanova's College of Nursing was created and developed into a premier nursing program. She expanded the college's academic programs, including initiating the master's and doctoral programs, as well as an accelerated BSN program for second-degree students. Fitzpatrick developed distance learning strategies and clinical simulation initiatives with a focus on scholarship and research.

The Honorary Award recipients are:


North Carolina Nurses Association

The Barbara Thoman Curtis Award recognizes significant contributions to nursing practice and health policy through political and legislative activity. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.