Magazine article St. Louis Journalism Review


Magazine article St. Louis Journalism Review


Article excerpt


KETC/Channel 9

Sanjita Cariappa has been named membership and direct marketing manager. Prior to joining the station, Cariappa developed and managed marketing campaigns for Cellarmaster Wines (a subsidiary of the Fosters Brewing Group) and database-marketing for The Salmat Group.

Barbara Zielinski was named payroll and human resource administrator. Most recently she worked for Epworth St. Louis. Also hired were Casey Croy, as manager of corporate and foundation grants and Jason Willet as associate membership manager.

West End Word

The free West End-Clayton Word reverted to its original name, the West End Word, and debuted a new format. The paper will expand its coverage to the central corridor of the city from the Arch to the Innerbelt, says Mer Jane Gates, publisher. Total circulation remains at 25,000 per week. The Word was founded as a monthly in 1972. The paper's editor is Julie Stevenson. Creative Director Peter Sotiriou is responsible for the new design of the paper.


Gregg Filandrinos, former general manager of KDNL (Channel 30) has been appointed general manager of the Roberts Broadcasting Co.'s Channel 46.

Media Awards

Fontbonne College

Jason Sommer, Ph.D., professor of English and Poet-in-Residence, has been chosen for a 2001 Whiting Writer's Award for his poetry by the Mrs. Giles Whiting Foundation. This honor includes a $35,000 grant and recognizes gifted writers "who contribute to the expression and preservation of our culture.

Greater St. Louis Association of Black Journalists

The 2001 Excellence in Journalism Lifetime Achiever Award was given to Gregory Freeman, a columnist for The St. Louis Post-Dispatch, as well as a host of television and radio talk shows.

Other winners are:

* Best Television Spot News, Jon King, KSDK-TV (Channel 5)

* Best Television General News, Sharon Stevens, KSDK-TV (Channel 5)

* Best Television Talk Show, Greg Freeman and Anne-Marie Berger, KETC-TV (9)

* Best Television Feature Story, Sharon Stevens, with Mark Mosher and Chris Cross, KSDK-TV (Channel 5)

* Best Television Series, Jon King, KSDK-TV (Channel 5)

* Best Print Spot News (large publications), Denise Hollinshed and Valerie Schremp, with Bill Lhotka, St. Louis Post-Dispatch.

* Best Print Spot News (small publications) Ishmael-Lateef Ahmad, The St. Louis American

* Best Print Sports Feature (large papers), Dan O'Neill, St. Louis Post-Dispatch

* Best Print Sports Feature (small), Earl Austin, Jr., The St. Louis American

* Best Print Political Coverage (large), Laura Higgins, The Riverfront Times

* Best Print Political Coverage (small) Sylvester Brown, Take Five

* Best Print Column (large), Greg Freeman, St. Louis Post-Dispatch

* Best Print Column (small), Sylvester Brown, Take Five

* Best Print General News (large), Mike Shaw and Denise Hollinshed, St. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.