Magazine article Ebony

Ebony Fashion Fair Chairpersons

Magazine article Ebony

Ebony Fashion Fair Chairpersons

Article excerpt

NOW that we have made all of our New Year's resolutions and welcomed 2002, the 44th annual production of the Ebony Fashion Fair continues to showcase its dramatic and elegant collection of eye-catching attire for women and men.

On January 10 in Hopkinsville, Ky., the world's premier traveling fashion show begins the second half of its production under its theme, "The Changing Trends Of Fashion." The fascinating designs from fashion houses in the United States and Europe were selected by the show's producer, Mrs. Eunice W. Johnson, wife of EBONY Publisher John H. Johnson. The items featured in the show include the creations from internationally famous designers, some of whom are African-Americans.

When the show ends its tour, it will have showcased its collection in 179 cities across the United States and Canada, thanks to the variety of nonprofit groups that sponsor the fashion show in each city. The chairpersons on these pages help to coordinate the shows in their respective areas.

Bernice Childress
Modernette Civic
Hopkinsville, Ky
Jan. 10

Thelma Burton
Alpha Kappa Alpha
Montgomery, Ala.
Jan. 20

Laura Bryant Martin
The Charmettes
Fort Lauderdale, Fla.
Jan. 31

La Sonya Stovall
Savannah State
University National
Savannah, Ga.
Feb. 8

Theresa B. Smith
Delta Sigma Theta
Atlanta, Ga.
Feb. 17

Daniel Pridgen
Phi Beta Sigma &
Zeta Phi Beta
Hattiesburg, Miss.
Feb. 27

Sylvia Naptha-Clark
Delta Sigma Theta
Jackson, Tenn.
Jan. 11

Vernell N. McCray
Florida A&M
Tallahassee, Fla.
Jan. 22

Constance Gilbert
Alpha Kappa Alpha
Miami, Fla.
Feb. 1

Cynthia M. Bennett
Jack & Jill of America
Columbia, S.C.
Feb. 9

Mellinda Craig
Delta Sigma Theta
Athens, Ga.
Feb. 19

Calvin B. Glover
Phi Beta Sigma
Biloxi, Miss.
Feb. 28

Jeanette Walker
Faith Unlimited Civic
Nashville, Tenn.
Jan. 12

Verna J. Johnson
Zeta Phi Beta &
Upward Bound
Gainesville, Fla.
Jan. 23

Kitty Jean P. Ellison
Delta Sigma Theta
Orlando, Fla.
Feb. 2

Spencer Pryor
Auxiliary to Cannon
Charleston, S.C.
Feb. 10

Coretta L. Holmes
Chattanooga, Tenn.
Feb. 20

La Seine H. Hilliard
Jackson Committeee
Jackson, Miss.
March 1

Ponzella Penny
Delta Sigma Theta
Birmingham, Ala.
Jan. 13

Geri Chapman
Alpha Kappa Alpha
Brunswick, Ga.
Jan. 24

Luvator Nelson
Urban League Guild
Tampa, Fla.
Feb. 3

Wylene Mapson
Alpha Kappa Alpha
Wilmington, N.C.
Feb. 12

Saundra Ellison
The Greater
Columbus Urban
League Guild
Columbus, Ga.
Feb. 21

Lois w. Williams
Memphis Alumnae
Chapter of Delta
Sigma Theta
Memphis, Tenn.
March 2

A. Karnice Holloway
Delta Sigma Theta
Huntsville, Ala.
Jan. 16

LeVon Spradley-Burnett
Alpha Kappa Alpha
Jacksonville, Fla.
Jan. 25

Delphina Davis
Alpha Kappa Alpha
St. Petersburg, Fla.
Feb. 4

Mildred MeElroy-Bonner
Fayetteville Chapter
of Chums
Fayetteville, N.C.
Feb. 13

Leahia Wickware
Sickle Cell Disease
Foundation of
Mobile, Inc.
Mobile, Ala.
Feb. 22

Vernita L. Woodfork
Delta Sigma Theta
Greenwood, Miss.
March 6

Felice J. Green
Delta Sigma Theta
Florence, Ala.
Jan. 17

Gayle W. Harper
Delta Sigma Theta
West Palm Beach,
Jan. 26

Rose Eady-Govan
Alpha Kappa Alpha
Fort Meyers, Fla.
Feb. 5

Sara B. Stroman
Zeta Phi Beta
Bennettsville, S.C.
Feb. 14

Stephanie Blackmon
Alpha Kappa Alpha
New Orleans, La.
Feb. 23

Mattie S. Washington
Alpha Kappa Alpha
Monroe, La.
March 7

Jerolene Turner
Alpha Kappa Alpha
Selma, Ala.
Jan. 18

Mae Francis Davis
Alpha Kappa Alpha
Daytona Beach, Fla. … 
Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.