Magazine article Drug Topics


Magazine article Drug Topics


Article excerpt

NARD is dead. Long live the National Community Pharmacists Association. By a vote of 98 to 9, the governing body of the organization that represents independent retail pharmacy has approved a name change proposed last year. For the first time since its founding nearly a century ago, the trade group for owners of single pharmacies and small chains will not be associated with the term druggist.

The vote by the house of delegates last month at the annual meeting in New Orleans completed a process actually begun in 1987. Then, the body known since its founding in St. Louis in 1898 as the National Association of Retail Druggists shortened its name to the acronym NARD. It had first rejected a switch to the National Association of Retail Pharmacists.

The consensus among members is that the new name, the National Community Pharmacists Association, "more accurately represents who we are today and on into the future," said senior v.p. Todd Dankmyer. In other actions taken by its house of delegates, the now NCPA:

Created a membership category for technicians. The executive committee and staff were assigned to come up with the specifics.

Called for all pharmacy organizations to work together to eliminate restricted distribution of drugs approved by the Food & Drug Administration and ensure that they are available to all licensed pharmacies. Earlier this year, the FDA ratified a mail-order-only distribution plan for Crixivan (indinavir, Merck) because of limited supplies.

Suggested to members who sell tobacco that with "the advent of new FDA drug delivery device regulations, [it] may be an appropriate time for pharmacists to reassess their own individual decision regarding the sale of tobacco."

Resolved to work with the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy "to ensure that third parties do not preempt boards of pharmacy state laws and utilize certification/accreditation to restrict pharmacists from practicing as the state board of pharmacy has legally approved."

Ratified the selection of Dennis L. Ludwig, Boulder, Colo., as president; Kenneth B. Epley, Salem, Ore., president-elect; W. Whitaker Moose, Mount Pleasant, N.C., chairman of the executive committee; and Holly Whitcomb, Seattle, fifth v.p.

Independent: take control The annual meeting-the first with Calvin Anthony as its executive v.p.-brought about 5,000 persons to the convention center, including more than 450 exhibitors. For the pharmacists, "taking control of our destiny" was the overriding theme. Acknowledging that "independent community pharmacy is threatened," outgoing president Louis Mitchell called on his colleagues "to unite as one to achieve our stated purpose-to regain control of our professional destiny. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.