Magazine article American Cinematographer

Appointment TV

Magazine article American Cinematographer

Appointment TV

Article excerpt

The Academy of Television Arts & Sciences hosts a dinner saluting the 2005-06 Emmy nominees for outstanding cinematography.

On August 18, Kodak hosted its annual dinner feting Emmy-nominated television cinematographers at the Bistro Garden Restaurant in Studio City. Serving as the evening's host was Michael Morelli, vice president and general manager for the Hollywood Region of the company's Entertainment Imaging Division. In remarks written prior to the ceremony, Morelli summed up the reasons for the celebration:

"A nomination for an Emmy Award is an extraordinary achievement. Hundreds of episodic series and movies are produced and aired on American broadcast and cable outlets every year. All of them were photographed by talented cinematographers.

"The Emmy nominees were chosen by their peers, who are uniquely qualified to recognize and appreciate how nuances in imagery amplifies moods and creates perceptions of time and place. Cinematography is a demanding and unforgiving form of artistic expression. The prerequisites include a collaborative spirit, innate talent and mastery of a complex and constantly evolving science. There are no unbreakable rules. Everyone does it differently. That is what makes cinematography an art. A nuance in lighting, camera movement, angles of photography, composition, frame rate, the choice of lenses, the way images are focused, the use of filtration and diffusion, choice of film stocks and postproduction techniques are just some of the countless variables that can inform the audience and evoke emotional responses.

"This annual celebration is our way of saying thank you to all of the nominees for enriching our lives. One individual in each category will receive an Emmy Award, but we believe that all of you deserve this time in the limelight in shared camaraderie with your peers and admirers. I am speaking on behalf of all your colleagues and friends at Kodak when I say congratulations. We feel privileged to share this event with you."

Following is a list of Emmy nominees and winners (* denotes winner):

Outstanding Cinematography for a Miniseries or Movie

Alan Caso, ASC

Into The West, "Wheel to the Stars" (TNT)

James Chressanthis, ASC

Four Minutes (ESPN2)

Kieran McGuigan*

Bleak House (Masterpiece Theatre), "Episode 1"(PBS)

Steven Poster, ASC

Mrs. Harris (HBO)

Robert Primes, ASC

Sleeper Cell, "Al-Fatiha" (Showtime)

William Wages, ASC

Into The West, "Dreams And Schemes" (TNT)

Outstanding Cinematography for a Single-Camera Series

Phil Abraham

The Sopranos, "The Ride" (HBO)

Michael Bonvillain, ASC

Lost, "Man Of Science, Man Of Faith" (ABC)

Rodney Charters, ASQ CSC

24, "9:00 p. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.