Magazine article American Cinematographer

Engineering Emmys to Be Awarded in September

Magazine article American Cinematographer

Engineering Emmys to Be Awarded in September

Article excerpt

The Board of Governors of the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (ATAS), upon recommendation from its Engineering Committee, will present two Emmy awards and six plaques to eight organizations and various individuals recognizing outstanding achievement in engineering development at the upcoming "41st Annual Primetime Emmy Awards," it was announced by ATAS President Doug Duitsman.

The engineering Emmys are for "developments in television engineering which are either so extensive an improvement on existing methods or so innovative in nature that they materially affect the transmission, recording, or reception of television," while the plaques are for "achievements which exhibit a high level of engineering and are important to the progress of the industry."

According to Doug Grindstaff, ATAS' engineering Award Committee Chair, "the plaque is not a consolation prize, but a positive recognition of engineering achievements that are on a different level of technology and industry importance than the Emmy." This is the first year in which plaques will be given for engineering excellence in addition to Emmy statuettes.

Recipients of this year's Emmy Award for outstanding achievement in engineering development will be:

Pacific Video, Inc. (and its creative team members Emory Cohen, Randolph Bum, and Doug Jaqua), for the Electronic Laboratory, the first facility engineered specifically and exclusively to apply electronic post-production technology to filmed television programs.

Cinema Products Corporation (and ASC associate member Garrett Brown), for its Steadicam, which provides dollysmooth camera moves while the operator, who wears the device, is running, walking or riding on any type of vehicle, and allows for many shots that would otherwise be impossible.

Additionally, plaques for outstanding achievement in engineering development have been voted to:

Offbeat Systems (and its creative team members Dick Bernstein, Bob Badami, and Bill Bernstein), for its Streamline Scoring System, which electronically duplicates streamer boards, hand punches and scoring stage metronomes, just as video "duplicates" film, retaining familiar visual and audible methods in a new and fundamentally different environment.

UCLA Film and Television Archives (and Ed Reitan, Don Kent, and Dan Einstein), for restoration of the Fred Astaire Television Specials, whereby obsolete equipment was recreated in order to produce new, high-quality master tapes, using state of the art technology.

Steadi-Film Corporation (and Chris Gyoury, Phil Kroll, and Wayne Smith), for the Steadi-Film System, a pin-registered gate that retrofits to a Rank Cintel Mark III and operates under its own micro-processor, creating rock steady film-to-tape transfers.

Composite Image Systems (and Joe Matza, Joe Wolcott, Don Lee, Price Pethel, and John Gale), for the Pin Registered Transfer Process, the first process to eliminate the "film weave" problem by implementing unique technologies during telecine which reproduce the registration accuracy inherent to the original camera negative.

Matthews Studio Electronics (and Ernst (Bob) Nettman, Carlos DeMattos, and Edward Phillips), for the Nettman CamRemote, which allows very large cameras and lens combinations to be precisely remote controlled.

Istec, Inc. (and Knox Leavitt, Mark Chamberlain, Jim Cooper, Gary Childs, and John Bastedo), for the WESCAM Camera Mount, a unique combination of several systems which offer complete remote control of a stabilized sensor package.

All of these Engineering awards will be presented during the non-televised portion of the "41st Annual Primetime Emmy Awards" on Saturday, September 16, at the Pasadena Civic Auditorium.

Fluid Head

The Miller 80 provides true fluid head performance for EFP cameras, including heavy offset loads (camera-prompters, 40 x zoom lenses) and 35mm film cameras up to 35kg (80 lbs). …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.