Magazine article American Cinematographer

From the Clubhouse

Magazine article American Cinematographer

From the Clubhouse

Article excerpt

American Society of Cinematographers

The American Society of Cinematographers is not a labor union or a guild, but is an educational, cultural and professional organization. Membership is by invitation to those who are actively engaged as Directors of Photography and have demonstrated outstanding ability. Not all cinematographers can place the initials ASC after their names. ASC membership has become one of the highest honors that can be bestowed upon a professional cinematographer, a mark of prestige and distinction.


Ralph Woolsey


Stanley Cortez

First Vice President

Leonard South

second Vice President

Harry Wolf

Third Vice President

Alfred Keller


Linwood Dunn


Daniel Fapp


Board of Governors

Joseph Biroc

George Folsey

William Fraker

Henry Freulich

Milton Krasner

Ernest Laszlo

Philip Lathrop

Lester Shorr

Ted Voigtlander


L.B. Abbott

Joseph Westheimer

Gene Polito

Howard Anderson

Sam Leavitt

Executive Director

Al Keller

Two cinematographers have been elected to active membership in the ASC this year:

Richard Yuricich has extensive experience in animation, optical photography, commercials, documentaries and television productions as well as feature films. He was nominated for an Academy Award for his special effects work on Close Encounters of the Third Kind, Star Trek: The Motion Picture and Bladerunner. His credits as Director of Photography include 2001: A Space Odyssey, Silent Running and most recently Brainstorm.

Stevan Larner's feature credits include Caddyshack. The Buddy Holly Story, Grey Lady Down and Badlands. His numerous television credits include the beginning four hours of Roots for which he received an Emmy nomination and The Winds of War for which he recently won an Emmy. He began his career as an animation cameraman and documentary filmmaker and one of his USIA documentaries was nominated for an Academy Award.

This year's Emmys for cinematography were won by Charles Correll and Stevan Larner, for their work on The Winds of War and by Joseph Biroc, for his work on Casablanca. Other members nominated for an Emmy were Harry Wolf, for Little House: A New Beginning, Al Francis, for The Blue and the Grey, Bill Butler, for The Thornbirds and Gayne Rescher, for Murder Me, Murder You. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.