Magazine article American Cinematographer

Smpte Special Awards

Magazine article American Cinematographer

Smpte Special Awards

Article excerpt

Robert M. Smith, President of the Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers, has announced that three Citations for Outstanding Service to the Society were presented during the Society's Annual Awards Luncheon in conjunction with the SMPTE Technical Conference and Equipment Exhibit, New York Hilton, November 9-14.

WILLIAM R. AHERN, National Broadcasting Company, for long-term involvement in the New York section as a manager, particularly his reliability and management of the audiovisual facilities for the New York section meetings.

EUGENE R. MYLER, Eastman Kodak Co. for his continued active participation in the Atlanta section as Manager, secretary/Treasurer and Chairman as well as his expert involvement in the 1968 Winter Television Conference as audiovisual facilities chairman and the 1978 Winter Television Conference as General Arrangements Chairman.

PAUL YANG, Paul Yang & Associates, Inc., for his efforts and success in enlarging the SMPTE Membership in Southeast Asia. Mr. Yang was also instrumental in arranging two exchange visits for officers of the Society, one to the People's Republic of China and the second to Japan, Australia and the Southeast Asian countries.

Others honored at the SMPTE Annual Awards Luncheon included the following:

DR. IRWIN A. MOON was named recipient of the Eastman Kodak Gold Medal Award for 1980 by the Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers.

The Eastman Kodak Gold Medal was given to Dr Irwin A. Moon for his advancement of the educational process through many unique uses of the art of the motion picture. In his capacity of producer and manager of the Moody Institute of Science, Dr. Moon contributed enormously in the creation of an outstanding library of visual materials utilized throughout the world.

Dr. Moon, founder of Moody Institute of Science, early pioneer in 16mm color motion picture, made significant contributions in designing, adapting and even building the equipment he needed to capture on film those rare, spectacular sights that had up to his time escaped the eyes of men.

DR. AUGUST ARNOLD, co-founder of Arnold and Richter, was named recipient of the Progress Medal by the Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers.

The Progress is presented to Dr. August Arnold for his many years of significant technical contributions to the motion picture industry including the design and building of the first practical mirror reflex motion picture camera, the Arriflex 35.

Dr. August Arnold, together with his late partner and friend, Dr. Robert Richter, founded in 1917 the company Arnold & Richter which has contributed actively to the advancement of the motion picture industry through numerous important inventions. Only one year after its founding, Arnold and Richter contributed their first invention, a motorized film printing machine which today is on permanent display at the "German Museum of Technology" in Munich.

In the early 1920's they were offering their first cameras to the rapidly expanding motion picture industry and in 1936, they introduced the first spinning mirror reflex camera, successor models of which are still manufactured and in active, world-wide use.

MAURICE G. LEMOINE, Ampex Corp., was named recipient of the David Sarnoff Gold Medal for 1980 by the Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers.

The David Sarnoff Gold Medal was awarded to Maurice G. Lemoine for his leadership in and technical contributions to digital equipment design that have led to the introduction of digital time base correctors for several videotape recorders and, more recently, to the achievement and public demonstration of high quality videotape recording.

LOREN L. RYDER, Ryder Magnetic Sales Corp., retired, was awarded the Honorary Membership Award for 1980 by the Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers.

Honorary Membership in the Society was awarded to Loren L. …

Author Advanced search


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.