Magazine article American Cinematographer

Sixth Annual Emmy Awards Creative Arts in Television

Magazine article American Cinematographer

Sixth Annual Emmy Awards Creative Arts in Television

Article excerpt

The Academy of Television Arts & Sciences pays tribute to the creative artists "who utilize their special kind of magic to bring ideas to life"

As has been its custom for the past several years, the Academy of Television Arts and sciences sponsored a dual awards presentation this year. On the evening of Saturday, September 6, 1980 the Academy held its Sixth Annual Banquet honoring Creative Arts in Television in the Exhibition Hall of the Pasadena Center.

On the following evening, Sunday, September 7, the Academy telecast over the ABC Television Network its Thirty-Second Annual Emmy Awards for Nighttime Programming. The program originated in the Pasadena Civic Auditorium.

In the wake of an industry-wide strike by actor members of SAG and AFTRA, there was, up until the very last minute, considerable speculation as to whether the telecast would go on at all, since actors traditionally serve as presenters and they had already announced that they would boycott the event.

The show did go on, however-but just barely. With writers, directors and network executives substituting for the more colorful actors, the telecast was a lackluster affair and it ran much too long. Co-hosts Dick Clark and Steve Allen, risking the wrath of their performer colleagues, made a valiant effort to keep things light with their snappy patter, but the effect was rather hollow. Both Clark and Allen announced that they were donating their "substantial fees" to a re lief fund for the striking actors.

Actually, the Creative Awards Banquet, held the evening before, was a much more lively and successful affair. Not telecast, it had several actors (including the militantly pro-strike Ed Asner) as presenters and the atmosphere was warm and intimate.

For readers of American Cinematographer the key awards were the two EMMY statuettes presented in separate categories of cinematography. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed

Oops!

An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.