Magazine article American Cinematographer

Industry Activities

Magazine article American Cinematographer

Industry Activities

Article excerpt


The American Society of Cinematog raphers has elected Winton Hoch to head that organization during its 60th year.

Other officers for 1979 are Ernest Laszlo, 1st vp; Stanley Cortez, 2nd vp; Ted Voigtlander, 3rd vp; Charles Clark, treasurer; George Folsey, secretary, and Daniel Fapp, sergeant-at-arms.

Other members serving on the board are L.B. Abbott, Joseph Biroc, Linwood Dunn, William Fraker, Burnett Guffey, Philip Lathrop, Lester Shorr and Harry Wolf. Alternates for the year will be Leonard South, Milton Krasner, Ray Rennahan, Lloyd Ahern, Sam Leavitt, Harold Wellman, Richard Kelley, Henry Freulich, Vilmos Zsigmond and Thomas Tutwiler.


FILMEX, the International Film Exposition annually held in Los Angeles, was launched recently at a reception in honor of new Trustees, with prominent film community personalities present at the Playboy Mansion West for the unveiling of the FILMEX 79 poster, the announcement of the Opening Night film, and highlights of other major events to be included in this year's Exposition which will take place from March 14 through 29 at Putt's Century Plaza Theatres in the ABC Entertainment Center.

Selected to open FILMEX 79 is Milos Forman's film version of the contemporary musical classic HAIR, a Lester Persky and Michael Butler Production released by United Artists. Based on Gerome Ragni, James Rado and GaIt MacDermot's internationally successful work, with a screenplay by Michael Weller, HAIR was choreographed by Twyla Tharp.

The Filmex Poster, which has become an annual collector's item, was this year again created by Mike Salisbury who also designed the award-winning 1974 placard. Mr. Salisbury is Vice President, Senior Art Director at Wells, Rich, Greene/West, advertising agency for FILMEX. Illustrated by Joe Heiner, the newest poster, entitled "Hollywood Freeway," depicts a "celluloid" highway with a large green direction sign reading "FILMEX". In the background, nestled neatly in the hills, is the famed "Hollywood" sign and above that, emanating from the sky the words, Los Angeles International Film Exposition.

The first Board of Trustees meeting was convened in May, 1971 with a total of nine participants, the same number that was announced currently to expand the Board to a total of 39. In introducing the new members, Chairman Thomas P. Pollock stated, "Each year has been a growth year for us, not only because of the constant broadening of industry support internationally, but also because of the ever-increasing number and mosaic of the audiences at our events."

The nine new Trustees are: Gary Abrahams, Executive Assistant to the President, Marble Arch Productions, (and former Associate Director of FILMEX); Frederick Brisson, producer; Rob Cohen, producer; David M. Field, Sr. Vice President, United Artists; Kathleen Brown Rice, Member, Los Angeles Board of Education; Danton Rissner, producer; Richard S. Rosenzweig, Executive Vice President, Playboy Enterprises, Inc., Robert W. Shapiro, Head of Production, Warner Brothers; and Richard A. Shepherd, Sr. Vice President and Worldwide Head of Production for MGM.

From the popular to the obscure, contemporary to classic, premiere to revival, FILMEX annually plays host to the most complete spectrum of international film thought. Founded in the winter of 1971 by its Director, Gary Essert, Philip Chamberlin, George Cukor, and Gary Abrahams on a total capitalization of $9,000, FILMEX has grown from an audience of 30,000 to the largest public film event in the world with attendance of over 110,000. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.