Magazine article American Cinematographer

Industry Activities

Magazine article American Cinematographer

Industry Activities

Article excerpt


Cinemedia V, The Broadway Department Stores' annual film competition encouraging creativity and extending recognition to imaginative young filmmakers in California, Nevada and Arizona, embarks this month on its fifth successful year.

The film festival, open to all students registered in high schools, colleges and schools specializing in the creative arts, is honored this year with a highly impressive panel of distinguished judges selected from the motion picture industry and its related fields.

"A film competition such as Cinemedia can be a great asset to the motion picture industry with its potential to broaden the much neglected area of short subjects. The young creative mind can do wonders in our industry," commented Daniel Taradash, president of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, 1970-73, and screenwriter of From Here to Eternity, Picnic and co-writer of Hawaii.

Other members of the judging panel include: John Green, composer, conductor and winner of five Academy Awards including An American in Paris and Oliver; Julia and Michael Phillips, producers, with Tony Bill, of The Sting and Steelyard Blues; Shelly Manne, jazz drummer, composer and winner of the Down Beat poll for 15 consecutive years; John Milius, screenwriter of films including The Life and Times of Judge Roy Bean, Jeremiah Johnson, Magnum Force and Dillinger; Alan R. Howard, film critic for "The Hollywood Reporter"; William Froug, screen and television writer, producer and teacher in film history at UCLA and USC; Bronislau Kaper, composer of scores for over 150 motion pictures, including his Academy Award-winning LiIi; Roderick Paul, producer and director, including coproducership of Paper Chase; Melville Shavelson, writer, producer, director and former president of the Writer's Guild of America West; Sid Marshall, Senior Vice President, Managing Director, Young and Rubicam West; and Darryl Ponicsan, author and screen writer, with credits including Cinderella Liberty and The Last Detail.

According to Mrs. Lee Hogan Cass, the Broadway's Fashion Director and originator of Cinemedia, judging will be based on creative imagination, over-all presentation, general technical proficiency and camera work. "Cinemedia, with prize money totaling over $3,000, has evolved into one of the most significant student film festivals in the West," commented Mrs. Cass.

Rules, regulations and entry blanks can be obtained at your nearest Broadway Department Store. Submitting deadline is midnight, June 15, 1974.

Contact: Laine Altman; Public Relations Coordinator; The Broadway Department Stores; 3880 North Mission Road; Los Angeles, California 90031 (213)223-2266, Ext. 1769.


A British public service announcement for traffic safety won sweepstakes honors as the best television commercial of the year in the 14th annual International Broadcasting Awards sponsored by the Hollywood Radio and Television Society.

It was the first British television spot to win top honors in the competition which has been choosing the "world's best" commercials since 1960.

The radio sweepstakes winner was a retail commercial for O'Neil's department store of Akron, Ohio, produced by Chuck Blore Creative Services, of Hollywood, for the McDaniel, Fisher & Spelman Agency, of Akron. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.