Magazine article American Cinematographer

TV's Top-Rated

Magazine article American Cinematographer

TV's Top-Rated

Article excerpt

This year's Emmy-nominated cinematographers have their moment in the spotlight.

Eastman Kodak feted this year's Emmy-nominated directors of photography at its annual "Salute to Cinematography" bash, held at Studio City's Bistro Garden Restaurant on Sept. 14. Presented the night before the Creative Arts Primetime Emmys are handed out by the Academy of Television Arts and Sciences, the dinner always draws an appreciative crowd, due in part to its relaxed, non-competitive atmosphere. In recognizing the visual accomplishments of all the nominees, Kodak allows everybody to leave any jitters they might have at home and just enjoy the attention and the camaraderie of their fellow directors of photography. It's also one of the rare occasions when cinematographers get to hang out together.

Kodak has been hosting the event for 26 years. Master of ceremony duties were shared by Kathy Mazza, sales and marketing manager for the U.S. Television and Commercial segment of Kodak's motion-picture business, and Bruce Berke, the company's regional television account manager. Berke joked that it took two people to replace Mike Morelli, who had hosted the event for the past few years.

Mazza read a humorous poem she had written and introduced an all-star cast of ASC officers and board members in attendance. Berke then introduced the nominees and handed each one a Kodak Vision award, which he called "a tangible token of our appreciation for [your] talent."

The following evening at the Shrine Auditorium, Emmy statues were awarded to David Franco for Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee; Alik Sakharov, ASC for Rome; Steven V. Silver for Two and a Half Men; the team of Doug Allan, Martyn Colbeck, Paul Stewart, Simon King, Michael Kelem and Wade Fairley for Planet Earth; and the team of Per Larsson (director of photography), John Armstrong, Sylvester Campe, Petr Cikhart, Tom Cunningham, Chip Goebert, Bob Good, Peter Rieveschi, Dave Ross, Uri Sharon and Alan Weeks (camera) for The Amazing Race.

- Jean Oppenheimer

Following is a complete list of Emmy nominees and winners

(* denotes winner):

Outstanding Cinematography for a Miniseries or Movie

Lloyd Ahem, ASC

Broken Trail, "Part 1" (AMC)

Mike Eley

Jane Eyre, "Part 1"(PBS)

David Franco*

Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee (HBO)

Joel Ransom

The Path to 9/11, "Night 2" (ABC)

Eric Van Haren Noman, ASC

The Valley of Light (CBS)

Outstanding Cinematography for a Single-Camera Series

Phil Abraham

The Sopranos, "Soprano Home Movies" (HBO)

Thomas Del Ruth, ASC

Studio 60 on the Sunset Strip, Pilot (NBC)

Joseph E. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.