Magazine article Parks & Recreation

Branch/region News

Magazine article Parks & Recreation

Branch/region News

Article excerpt

2008 NRPA Congress & Exposition Scholarships

Each year, NRPA provides 16 scholarships to individuals interested in exploring the opportunities at the NRPA Congress & Exposition. The focus of the scholarship programs is to inspire future participation and leadership in NRPA, and to develop professional contacts with NRPA officers, trustees, and other professionals from around the nation.

All eligible members are encouraged to apply by April 25 for the following NRPA Congress & Exposition scholarships, which will be applied to the Congress in Baltimore, Oct. 14-18.

NRPA's Diversity Scholarship: This scholarship is open to professional, citizen, and student members of ethnic minorities. Each year, the Diversity Committee selects four professional and citizen members and four student members to receive this scholarship. Participants will meet with NRPA leadership and attend various education sessions and board committee meetings at Congress with their assigned mentor.

NRPA's Young Professional Fellowship: This fellowship is open to all young professional members in the field of parks and recreation. Each of the eight NRPA regional councils selects one recipient. Participants will meet with NRPA leadership and staff to review Congress plans, and attend various Congress sessions, as well as trustee and branch meetings with their assigned mentor. Fellowship participants will also become involved in networking with members in the region following Congress.

Applications will be accepted at

2008 National Aquatic Conference Scholars Recognized

NRPA's National Aquatic Branch annually raises funds through a silent auction held during the National Aquatic Conference to provide scholarships to aspiring young professionals wishing to attend the conference the following year. The scholarships provide the recipients the opportunity to enhance their professional growth and contribute to their overall knowledge of aquatics. This year, the following six scholars were chosen and recognized at the opening session of the National Aquatic Conference on March 28 in Palm Springs, Calif.: Jennifer Bistrack, Annapolis Recreation and Parks, Annapolis, Md.; Candace Ellsworth, Derby Recreation Commission, Mulvane, Kan.; Todd Leland, city of Long Beach, Calif.; Leo Mota, city of Lakeland, Fla. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.