Magazine article Computers in Libraries

Noted & Quoted

Magazine article Computers in Libraries

Noted & Quoted

Article excerpt

The Public Library Association (PLA) announced that Audra Caplan has been elected vice president/president-elect of PLA. She will become president in July 2010 and serve a 1-year term.

Currently, C apian is director of the Harford County (Md.) Public Library and before that, she was the associate director. Previously, she held positions at the Baltimore County Public Library and the Enoch Pratt Free Library. Caplan has been a member of PLA and ALA for more than 24 years and has served on numerous committees. She also served on the PLA board of directors, the Young Adult Library Service Association (YALSA) board of directors, and as an ALA councilor. She was president of YALSA from 2003 to 2004. Caplan also serves on several boards within her community such as Healthy Harford: Nutrition and Physical Activity Advisory Board and United Way Advisory Board. She was a mentor for the Maryland Library Leadership Institute. In 2008, she was awarded the Paul Harris Fellow Award from the Rotary Foundation of Rotary International.

LibLime announced that Maria Laude has joined the company as an application support librarian.

Most recently, Laude was at SirsiDynix, where she served in sales support. She has more than 10 years of experience with automated library systems including Unicorn, SirsiDynix Symphony, Geac, Dynix, Horizon, Sunrise, NOTIS, and CARL.

ACRL announced that Lisa Janicke Hinchliffe has been elected vice president/president-elect of ACRL. She will become president in July 2010 and serve a 1-year term.

Currently, Hinchliffe is coordinator for information literacy services and associate professor at the University of Illinois-UrbanaChampaign. Prior to this, she was library instruction coordinator at Illinois State University and served as reference librarian at Parkland (Community) College.

Hinchliffe is active in ACRL, serving as chair of the Blog Advisory Board, chair of the Instruction Section Nominating Committee, and co-chair of the National Conference Innovations Group. She is also active in state and regional associations, including the Consortium of Academic and Research Libraries in Illinois. She has also published several articles on information literacy. Hinchliffe received the University of Illinois Library School Alumni Association Leadership Award in 2003.

ACRL also announced that Lisabeth Chabot, college librarian at Ithaca College, and Ann Campion Riley, assistant director for technical services at the University of Missouri, were elected to the ACRL board of directors and will each serve a 4-year term as director at large.

Williamsburg Regional Library (WRL) announced that it received awards for two of its programs at a meeting of the Virginia Public Library Directors' Association. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.